We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Intimate Venue”
Review of Eddie's Attic

Eddie's Attic
Ranked #1 of 9 Nightlife in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Intimate Venue”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

First visit last night. Will definitley return. Space is small with great accoustics. Staff was friendly. Food was good, not great but we really went to listen to the music. Had the fish tacos which were fine.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank newyorkdoll4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    17
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised with great talent!!!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My wife and I were in Atlanta on a random Monday night and yelped some music venues for some after dinner entertainment. Eddie's came up as a recommended spot for country open mic. It took longer than expected to make the drive over to Decatur. Once we arrived, it looked like it might be the only business open in the whole town. We were hesistant to go in but we were really glad we did. We paid the $6 cover and bellied up to one of the bars. Eddie gives each musician 2 songs to show their stuff. Our country music bar is pretty high as we spend a lot of time in Nashville. The bar was met and exceeded by two acts that were at Eddies. We were blown away by Acoustic Eidelon and Tony Memmel. Look them up on itunes or youtube. Just goes to show you never know what you'll find at Eddies. Highly recommended for music. Not sure about the food. We didn't eat.

Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyTheGreek_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Eddie's Attic is for people who love music”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Eddie's Attic is one of the rare establishments that makes music its centerpiece. If you love music and want to go somewhere to listen to good musicians, plan a visit to Eddie's Attic. I love going there to see an array of artists, mostly Americana/bluegrass/folk/rock/singer-songwriter types. The listening room is fairly small, and there's not a bad seat in the house. If you're going to see a specific act, you can purchase a table or individual tickets in advance, or just show up the night of the show. There is plenty of seating at the bar and in a few rows of bleacher-style seating in the back. Again, not a bad seat in the house. The act will be introduced, along with an admonition to refrain from talking during the performance. I love this. The audience is usually very attentive, so it provides a great listening environment and a great place for musicians to play. As for the food - I've had some great food there, and then I've had some pretty standard bar food there. You can order dinner as part of your ticket package, too. Eddie's Attic also appreciates the up-and-coming musicians, too - if you have a chance, catch one of the Open Mic Mondays where artists compete for a slot in the twice a year shootout. It's so highly regarded (record labels show up, etc.) that musicians will come in from all over the country to have a chance to participate. Great atmosphere. No smoking in the listening room (but I believe you can smoke on the patio). Great bar staff and excellent service. If you love music, be sure to make Eddie's Attic a part of your plans!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bethrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great music - Callaghan!”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Eddie's Attic is the place to go to hear new & rising talent. It is a listening room which means it's intimate and quiet. I liked the fact that they are serious about people being quiet so you can actually hear the quality of the music. The food is very good along with the choices of adult beverages and we enjoyed choosing a table near the bar that had bar stools so we were up higher than the other tables which afforded us a great view of the stage. We were there to see Callaghan and she was amazing. It was also fun to see Sean Mullins sing with her and listen to/ watch the rockin' band. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a great night out to enjoy some music.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ecs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Find local singer / song writer talent before it goes global”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

If you want to listen to local Atlanta music, nothing beats Eddie's Attic. Lots of great acts have played on the stage and it is a hidden gem place to discover talented musicians. If you want to talk, go to the outside patio. If you want to listen to great music, then sit back and enjoy the show.

The open mic shoot outs are a great way to watch multiple acts. John Mayer and Jennifer Nettles (Sugarland) have both won the shoot outs before being discovered.

Fried chicken dinner is yummy and I get it every time.

A great way to support independent musicians and get an intimate live show.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank skim500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eddie's Attic also viewed

 

Been to Eddie's Attic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing