We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madras Bhavan - terrific South Indian food; reasonable!”
Review of Madras Mantra

Madras Mantra
Ranked #37 of 373 Restaurants in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Madras Bhavan - terrific South Indian food; reasonable!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

When you're planning a trip to South India and your local friends from the area suggest a restaurant, you know it's probably a good bet. The food was delicious and quite reasonably priced. I wish I knew more of the vocabulary to describe the food, but what I can say is that all the side dishes that you mix with rice were wonderfully tasty, just the right about of spice, and the yogurt final dishes delicious cooling. And yes, the best coffee! We went on a Thursday evening when few others were there, but service was just right - not hovering, but always ready. I'm sure it helped that the other couple spoke Tamil, but I'm convinced you could have a wonderful meal here on your own - a little journey to the south of India right here in Decatur.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Terrible service, ok food”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We have had food here many times now. Nothing great ! Same old fare.

What sucks though is their service. The waiters make you feel like they are doing you a favor ! Rude and obnoxious. Probably comes from not having much competition for veg, south Indian food in Atlanta like dosa and idli.

We are not going back !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrazengaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This restaurant, formerly Saravana Bhavan (a franchisee of the Chennai India based chain) has recently renamed itself 'Madras Bhavan'. Thankfully the menu has not changed. They still serve a good Chana Batura, good dosas and excellent filter coffee. Unlike previous visits where the service was terrible and the food the only saving grace, this time, service was prompt as well. This could be because we were there early on a Sunday evening, but we'll take it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank snd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ok Food did not live up to expectations.”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were anticipating a great Brunch and were in fact the first customers of the day.The food was luke warm with service that matched it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank amavu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have eaten at this restaurant one to two times per year over the past several years and have always found the food to be excellent. I have had no problems with the service either. Food is brought out fresh, hot, and as it gets ready. Consequently, in a group, all will not receive their food at the same time. If sharing dishes around the table, this is no problem. The staff was very nice, offering explanations and recommendations based on preferences. I usually order the variety platter called, on the extensive menu, "Limited Quantity", the name evidently referring to the portions of each of the many items on the platter.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OneBlueDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madras Mantra also viewed

 

Been to Madras Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing