We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, fresh ideas”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Calle Latina

Calle Latina
Ranked #31 of 365 Restaurants in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
124 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food, fresh ideas”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I love the creative menu: fusion southern-Caribbean-Mexican street food with a Decatur twist. Fresh, yummy salads, pulled pork tacos and empanadas were all great. A wonderful hibiscus tea to drink. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. I'm eager to go back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kira_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super new spot.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Be sure and try this new Decatur gem. Very well priced and the food is delish.
The empandas and taco are outstanding!!!
Probably the best bargain in the city- with VERY attentive and kind service.
It's byob which is nice as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AtlCarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, GA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food reasonably priced”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Calle Latina has great food which is reasonably priced. I had the BLTaco with chicken bacon and avocado and it was terrific. The side of slaw was also very good and very tasty. It's a small place but people move in and out very quickly. The manager was very knowledgeable of all the food and was able to give advise on what the different foods and sauces were. Love it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snellvillemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Where has this place been?”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I've eaten at most of the downtown Decatur restaurants over the last year and a half or so. This is in my top three. Prices are extremely reasonable. I had the pork empanadas, and they came with a side slaw. My meal was beyond tasty and very filling for the cost. The wait for the food is a bit longer than other area restaurants and seating is limited. But even with those factors, I will certainly be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KismetG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midville, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A gem amongst the downtown dining clutter..”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was a pleasantly surprising business luncheon. Calle Latina is a very small ethnic eatery with about 4 tables on the inside and at least 6 small tables on the sidewalk. It is located on the Church Street side of downtown Decatur Square near the MARTA train station. Parking is challenging so watch out for the sneaky meter gestapos.The concise menu is an education of South American casual favorites cooked to order with pride and care. Calle Latina's ambience scores with "south of the border" music and eclectic artwork. They serve sandwich choices such as tortas, similar to a cuban loaf style sandwich bread, or arepas, fried white corn meal bread patties, filled with some of these options:
La Reina – Pulled Chicken, Green Mole, Avocado, Tomato, Peppers
La de Pernil – Braised Pork Shoulder, Habanero Mango Slaw
De Pabellón – Shredded Beef, Black Beans, Cheese, Plantains

Also, you can get their satisfying empanadas that are served as a pair with a small side salad. I recommend these options:
De Carne – Ground Beef, Green Olives, Spices
Pollo Verde – Pulled Chicken, Chorizo, Green Mole
Barbacoa – Pork Shoulder, Caramelized Onion, Chipotle Barbeque

But, more importantly, do not miss out on the cool, sweet and refreshing hibiscus tea. For a complete experience, enjoy an "Al Lado" serving of the sweet Plantains sauced with Cinnamon Butter. Hey, if you have not already guessed, I'm declaring this place an absolute winner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank I.Z.E.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calle Latina also viewed

 

Been to Calle Latina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing