We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly dirty, with unhelpful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We were pleased with the close location to Emory, our destination in Atlanta. The hotel looked fine from the outside. The room we were given had a terrible mold smell. We did not notice it at first, but after about an hour in the room, we all were very bothered by it. The sheets were low quality and scratchy, with fairly poor quality bedding overall. The pillows were lumpy, like old foam pillows that someone had tried to wash in the washing machine (wrecks them). We complained about the smell, but were told the manager was busy and could not talk to us. We asked to change to a different room, but were told by the manager (hours later) that they were booked solid. All other hotels nearby were booked, so we stayed. The manager was uncaring and unapologetic. There was a group of children screaming and running down the halls until late at night. Noisy! No help from the "manager" on this one either. We politely asked for help both times but got no help

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytravelers2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atemory, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Based on your feedback I think that you may be mistaking our hotel for the former Holiday Inn downtown Decatur on Clairmont Ave.
Our hotel underwent a major renovation in 2009 that included all guest suites and public space. All of our guest suites have 32' flat panel televisions & comfy new bedding.
We hope to see you in the future and hope that you will choose our Holiday Inn Express located at 2183 N Decatur Rd Decatur, GA.

Randy Burnem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 148 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2010

OK, its a Holiday Inn Express. But it is a clean one. Good location, close to downtown Decatur and more comfortable than the "regular" Holiday Inn. Crowded parking but free. Kept very clean. Front desk folks were friendly and helpful. I have no complaints and am, in fact, returning there again tonight for an event in Decatur! Lower priced than places further out (or in) to Atlanta. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PenrynC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atemory, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our hotel.
Guest satisfaction is our number one priority and in your case it seems we did that!

We also appreciate the return visit and hope to see you again in the near future. Our favorite three words are 'I'll Be Back'

Thank You!
Randy Burnem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Bad service at the front desk and not convenient to parts of the Emory campus where my assistant and I needed to go. But what do you expect in a Holiday Inn? It ain't the Ritz.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atemory, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel.
We pride ourselves on providing outstanding service and I apologize that you did not feel that way.
The Emory campus is 1 mile from our hotel making our hotel the closest branded hotel to Emory.
We hope that you will visit us again and give us the change to show you that OUTSTANDING servce that we pride ourselves on.

Randy Burnem
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

We are here now and all I can say is this is a very clean hotel.
The room is spacious enough with mini fridge, sink, micorwave, even some utensils, bowls, plates, and can opener. Of course there is the coffee maker as well.
Bathroom has seperate sink mirror area from tub/shower and toliet.
Nice tolietries including mouthwash.
Decor of hotel loby, pool area and rooms are very nice. Plenty of comfortable chairs in room.
Good sized flat screen TV which my son hooked up his Xbox to.

The staff is wonderful.
We had origionally planned a late arrival, however due to excitement left early for our trip.
With a regular check in time of 3pm they were able to get us in at 11am!
The front desk person was very friendly and helpful.

For this type of hotel it is even a bit elegant!

My son noticed of our two queen beds one of them was a firm mattress and one was very soft and plush! Very nice to have options!

Several local business will deliver food to this hotel.

Exercise room was adaquate but very clean.
Stair ways clean.
Elevators Clean.
Lobby clean with a small area of items for sale like a convience store.
Free breakfast with stay.

Note: Becasue we wanted to pay in cash for our room we did have to give a 200.00 deposit but it will be refunded when we leave.

Great location to downtown Atlanta as well as Little Five Points, which is also a must see in Atlanta!
Check out Savage Pizza for lunch or dinner while there WOW amazing food!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBeyond40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We have stayed here before and found that this hotel provides a high and consistent standard of rooms. A good breakfast is also provided. The rooms are quite large and comfortable. They also contain a microwave, sink and fridge. You do need a car if staying here to visit the local area but it is only a few minutes drive to the nearest MARTA metro station which takes you into downtown Atlanta. There is a large supermarket - even with a British food shelf - almost next door and a few shops and restaurants in the vicinity. All in all we have found this hotrl to be good value for money

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lingof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

The hotel staff was very friendly-everyone from the front dest to housekeeping. The room was neat and clean. Breakfast was ok...I'm a picky eater. However, they had cereals, fruits, and different kinds of breakfast breads that were good. The bacon and eggs weren't so good. I would stay here again. The room had free internet which is always a plus. Parking was great.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatsuccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

if you need to be in this area - this hotel will do the trick - clean, safe, convenient,friendly staff, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joisey-joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decatur
Poncey-Highland
The Highland Inn
The Highland Inn
#94 of 172 in Atlanta
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#5 of 172 in Atlanta
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area

Address: 2183 N Decatur Rd, Decatur, GA 30033-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Decatur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range: $147 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Emory Hotel in Decatur, Georgia, offers you a truly Southern hospitality experience. Enjoy our warm surroundings that truly make you feel at home away from home. The staff of the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Decatur, GA, is looking forward to being of service for all of your hospitality needs in the upcoming years. We are conveniently located in the heart of the Emory Hospital & Emory University area and Dekalb Medical Hospital & Children's Healthcare of Atlanta hospital and only minutes from downtown Atlanta. One mile from Emory Hospital and near the Centers for Disease Control, the CDC.We are now proudly offering our complimentary Express Start breakfast featuring two hot items daily - omelets w/cheese, sausage or bacon, biscuits and gravy.Free local calls, mini-kitchens w/ microwave and refrigerator are available in all our newly renovated rooms. Meeting and banquet facilities available. Relax in our year round indoor heated pool or in our on-site fitness center. Restaurants and shopping plaza within walking distance. Visit Decatur, GA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Emory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area Hotel Decatur
Holiday Inn Express Decatur
Holiday Inn Decatur
Decatur Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing