We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good room, Free breakfast, Super slow Wifi” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Decatur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good room, Free breakfast, Super slow Wifi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The breakfast was decent. The room was excellent, very comfortable bed. The staff was terrific. The location was okay. Some decent food options within walking distance. That left turn out of the parking lot to get to Emory, though... that was painful. The WiFi was unacceptably slow. As a business traveler, I'm a slave to a decent broadband connection. This was barely dial up speeds. Made it very difficult to upload conclusion reports each night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EddiePotatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear EddiePotatoes,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    56
    26
    6
    18
See reviews for
59
12
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is clean with large rooms and very courteous and helpful staff. They serve a full breakfast and have a welcoming happy hour. Three couples traveled from Florida and stayed there three nights and all had the same great service. We plan on staying at the same hotel next year while in Decatur.

Room Tip: Room 302 and 304 are very spacious with one having a king bed and the other 2 Queens and very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diver012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

One of the best things about this hotel is it's location in walking distance to several outdoor shopping corners. Rooms are comfortable and the staff was great.

Breakfast options varied, biscuits were hard and inedible and eggs were cold (first thing in the AM). Sweet rolls were good. Luckily there is a McDonald's 1 block away.

We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adjay30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-EMORY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Adjay 30,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express-Emory! It's true, our location is walking distance to several local eateries. If you have not had the opportunity, I recommend that the next time you are in the area that you spend time in downtown Decatur. It's a walkable mile and there are also a ton of great places to eat and several boutiques in that area.

We understand that two of the most important factors that are considered when reserving a hotel is friendly service and a clean/comfortable room; I am glad you were satisfied with both!

I am, however, disappointed that our breakfast did not meet your standards. Your feedback has been shared with members of the team and next time you are in the area I am confident the necessary improvements will have been made. But please, if you are ever dissatisfied with an item on the breakfast bar, let us know and we will correct it right away. We want you to enjoy each and every part of your stay, and that includes breakfast!

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip and as always, thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express-Emory!

Best Regards,

Renee Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Clean and quiet, with decor that is better than most Holiday Inn Express hotels. Close to Emory but not walking distance. To get to Emory, a difficult left turn, due to heavy traffic, is required out of parking lot. Near strip mall but no good restaurants there. If possible, I would recommend paying a little more to stay at the Emory Conference Center hotel. It is much nicer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank world_citizen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puryear, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed 4 days starting on a Saturday. We were told there was a manager's welcome each Monday thru Thursday from 4-6, we would have enjoyed this but were visiting family and missed both that were available. Nice option though. The staff was over the top friendly and the room was nice and cleaned well daily. The only problem we had was breakfast the day we left (and this was the only day we ate the breakfast). We arrived at 9am when the breakfast was scheduled to end at 9:30. There were no boiled eggs in the fridge. The bacon was soggy at best and the scrambled eggs were dry. I put gravy on the eggs since I could not get the boiled egg I usually eat thinking it would help with the dryness. Not helpful... a really funny taste resulted from my mixture. In fairness my husband said his gravy was fine on his biscuit. I got coffee and the half & half container was to the point I had to hold it over my coffee upright to get something to come out. We never saw the hostess come out to check on anything even though there was 30 minutes until the breakfast was to be over. We stay at Holiday Inns frequently and are used to a service person refilling and checking on the breakfast offerings. Glad we didn't count on them everyday for breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copper Mountain, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a (relatively) economical hotel near Emory. Nothing fancy, but rooms are quiet, clean and nice, and there is a decent full breakfast with eggs and biscuits and gravy. Their business center is standard, and worked well. One downside is it does not have the shuttle back and forth to airport, unlike the more expensive hotels nearer to Emory.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atemory, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Paxman B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback concerning your most recent stay with us. I wanted you to know that although our shuttle service is only offered complimentary within a three mile radius of the hotel, we can always assist you in pre-arranging ground transportation to the airport with a independent shuttle service. It is our desire that we continuously exceed our guest expectations and during your next visit that's just what we plan to do! Thank you again and we'll see you next visit.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a recent trip. Hotel was very clean, room was comfortable. Felt like it could be a newer property. Free breakfast and free wifi. Staff was friendly and welcoming. We arrived late so did not venture into the surrounding area. It is very convenient for visiting Emory University.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrivingMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atemory, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear DrivingMama,

Thank you very much for taking a quick moment to provide feedback concerning your most recent stay with us. I love hearing from our guests and please know that I plan to share your comments with my entire staff. The entire Holiday Inn Express Emory team looks forward to future oppourtunities to be of service to you. We'll see you next visit!

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poncey-Highland
The Highland Inn
The Highland Inn
#95 of 172 in Atlanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area
Address: 2183 North Decatur Road, Decatur, GA 30033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Decatur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Emory Hotel in Decatur, Georgia, offers you a truly Southern hospitality experience. Enjoy our warm surroundings that truly make you feel at home away from home. The staff of the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Decatur, GA, is looking forward to being of service for all of your hospitality needs in the upcoming years. We are conveniently located in the heart of the Emory Hospital & Emory University area and Dekalb Medical Hospital & Children's Healthcare of Atlanta hospital and only minutes from downtown Atlanta. One mile from Emory Hospital and near the Centers for Disease Control, the CDC.We are now proudly offering our complimentary Express Start breakfast featuring two hot items daily - omelets w/cheese, sausage or bacon, biscuits and gravy.Free local calls, mini-kitchens w/ microwave and refrigerator are available in all our newly renovated rooms. Meeting and banquet facilities available. Relax in our year round indoor heated pool or in our on-site fitness center. Restaurants and shopping plaza within walking distance. Visit Decatur, GA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Emory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area Hotel Decatur
Holiday Inn Express Decatur
Holiday Inn Decatur
Decatur Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing