We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little bar”
Review of The Square Pub

The Square Pub
Ranked #52 of 370 Restaurants in Decatur
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little bar”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We just happened to walk in for a quick beer and bite to eat. We sat at the bar and the staff was very friendly and attentive. Turns out one of the owners used o manage another restaurant that we frequent which explains the fun atmosphere. Really liked the taco plate which I have since ordered twice more.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DecGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
462 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

If you're looking for good solid bar food coupled with good service, this place fits the bill. There's nothing too fancy about the place, but the menu should satisfy hungry travellers and they have an excellent beer selection! Recommended if you're in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMcCorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Turkey burger was tasty, service slow”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I've eaten at the square pub a few times now and enjoy the atmosphere of being right on the square. The food us decent, the turkey burger is my favorite, but the service has been quite inattentive and slow every time. I'm reasonably sure our waiter was stoned last time we took friends here. Bottom line is this is a decent option on the square, but nothing special. Given that the wait at other places in the immediate area can be horrendous, it is worth a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drewtravels22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A new reason to eat in Decatur!”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

A few weeks ago, my husband and I decided to give The Square Pub a try. This was mainly due to a Scoutmob offer for a free appetizer of green chile tots (smothered in Hatch green chile sauce and cheddar jack cheese) -- which sounded like an absolute must have to two people who are fans of well flavored food with a heat kick. Husband's turkey burger (with mashed potatoes on top) produced a big, VERY happy smile from him. And my taste buds jumped for joy after biting into the veggie burger (house-made black bean burger topped with guacamole, sour cream, lettuce, tomato & red onion). The secret to the latter is a delicious infusion of chile powder and a "mystery ingredient" that gives a sometimes bland meal choice an amazing punch of flavors that did a mighty fine dance inside my mouth. Even though we were plenty full when we left, we were already thinking about how soon we could make a return visit.

And return again we did, just a couple of weeks later, snagging an outdoor table on the square and enjoying an early Sat. evening concert by a local band. There was a mix up in our order this time, though, and a portobello musroom sandwich was delivered to our table instead of the veggie burger (which I'd been happily anticipating all day). While we were waiting for a corrected order to arrive at our table, Bob (the genial and welcoming owner) stopped by to say hello and see how our meal was going. When he found out what had happened, he got personally involved in getting our longed for veggie burger from the kitchen to our table, comp'd us an extra side item, and took the burger charge off our bill. What a totally classy way to handle an inadvertent mistake!

As we told Bob, we look forward to being some of The Square Pub's biggest cheerleaders -- fabulous food and terrific hospitality need to be celebrated and supported!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin-ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great spot in the square!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

I adore this place. Great for a beer and snacks, but also for dinner. I love the turkey burger with the sweet potato tots, it's like a mini Thanksgiving dinner! The staff is wonderful and the owner is amazingly attentive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank endersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Square Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Square Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing