We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Thumbs Up Diner

Thumbs Up Diner
Ranked #39 of 371 Restaurants in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We absolutely loved the food. I don't eat pork or beef and there were plenty of other options. The service was quick. The only downfall was that they just made a new batch of sweet tea that we had to wait on and when we got it, the tea wasn't sweet at all. I would highly recommend and when I come back to Atlanta, I will come again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trishap720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    37
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great breakfast very accommodating”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Looked the service and were very happy to seat 8 people in the morning after the wedding, loved it. The breakfast menu was wonderful and so delicious especially those wicked biscuits

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank judyshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average Diner Food, Poor Hosting Service”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We chose this restaurant at 11:00am on a Sunday morning. We were told there was a 15 minute wait. We walked around and returned 12 minutes later, and the host told us we would be seated at an empty outside table (great!) as soon as it was bussed. I amped up my appetite, only to watch "our" table sit with SIX other tables waiting to be bussed by a single, slow-as-molasses teen bus boy. I was dying to jump in and bus the darn thing myself. Finally, the host bussed the table--without using a tray, which took like 4 trips-- and seated us about half an hour after we arrived. I had "griddle grits" and French toast, orange juice, and coffee. The waiter stayed on things and kept my coffee full. The food and prices were fine --about what we expected from a diner-- but we also expect diners to be fast. To me, that is sort of the point of a diner. . . not to have a fine dining experience but to get one's belly full and move on in a reasonably short time. Thumbs Up Diner could be better with a more enthusiastic staff in the front of the house. If you choose to go, just plan to sit back and be there for a while.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PyrotechnicDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Real Down Home Diner - Good for Breakfast”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The pancakes and waffles are great, especially the buckwheat variety with pecans. The 3-egg omelets are good. The biscuits are too heavy; go for toast instead. Service is friendly and coffee is poured generously.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Two Thumbs up!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I ate at this eatery with my coworkers during lunchtime. I ordered french toast & sausage and hot chocolate. Our waiter was very attentive, the food was great, and I will definitely return to dine again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimplyJ0Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thumbs Up Diner also viewed

 

Been to Thumbs Up Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing