We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marlay House

The Marlay House
Ranked #25 of 365 Restaurants in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable Pub”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Marlay House is warm in the winter and has a great patio for the rest of the year. The food is delicious, there is a good beer list and it is an overall enjoyable place to spend time. It's one of our favorite places in town.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rsstoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    20
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mar-love!!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant/bar many times and I really enjoy the atmosphere, the drinks, and the food. I almost always get the chicken fingers and fries, although I have had some of the other fare and haven't been disappointed. If you want the feel of an Irish Pub consider coming here. When my mother came to visit, of the four days she spent in Decatur, we ate here on 2 separate days, just a nod to the food!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
142 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“maybe it was the Chefs Day off”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Judging by the reviews we must have dropped in for lunch on the Chefs day off and the relief dishwasher was trying to fill in. Fish and Chips disgusting - dont call yourself an Irish Pub if you dont know a thing about making a pub basic. The Irish sausage and mash was marginally better but certainly nothing to write home about. At least the kitchen isn't responsible for the beer

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjx25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ga
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Mixed Review”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Marlay House has everything one could ask for in terms of location and atmosphere: cute neighborhood, authenticity (as close as can be found in Atlanta, anyway), a good menu. When we arrived at 10:10 am or so, they were still setting up. We thought that they were closed until one of the waitstaff told us they would be finished setting up in a minute or two. We thought it strange to advertise brunch but not have the restaurant ready to seat people a little earlier than that. When we did sit down, it took a good long while for one of the four waitstaff to get even our drink orders. There were only about 2 other customers at this time, sitting right behind us. After that the brunch was absolutely delicious--I couldn't have wanted for more (aside from the brisket being a little cold as if it had been plated quickly and then sat out waiting for delivery). The service was our main complaint. The waitress's visits to our table were rare, and when she did come by she never asked if we needed anything--just pour some water or coffee and dash off again. I did manage to catch her to ask for creamer and more coffee. When I asked if it was decaf (I have to make sure that there isn't caffeine in my coffee), she gave me a look and pointed to the sign "Decaf" on the thermos. Wow. This left us feeling uncomfortable, and put a damper on what would have been a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atltraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME.”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

It's like popping over to your Irish neighbor's house for a pint. The lamb stew is a personal favorite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Marlay House also viewed

 

Been to The Marlay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing