We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food is hot, fresh, and plenty of it”

El Jinete Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 73 Restaurants in Dawsonville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
South
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The food is hot, fresh, and plenty of it”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The best Mexican food in this area. The food is always fresh, and the portions are very generous. We compared the size of an entree to its closest competitior. El Jinete had a larger portion at a cheaper price. Guac is amazing! The staff and management are very friendly. We always feel at home here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blcpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
205 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food but the service was lack-luster”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We liked the food a lot. the complimentary chips were better than most. The waitress was not friendly at all. She never smiled, would stay gone for long periods of time, and generally did not impress us at all.

We may go back and keep our fingers crossed that someone else serves us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trailblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Fajitas and Poor Service Everytime!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We've be coming here for lunch for years. This is my first review for them. Their food is always good but you have to deal with the service or lack of. It never fails that they seat you quick and take your drink order and then you wait. This happens every time we go. Then another server comes over and asks can I get your drink order. Really!! Finally the chip boy shows up with your chips and salsa. He should get a raise because he is the only one that knows his job and you can count on. So we get our drinks and I asked for guacamole dip. So off to "No Where" goes my server. Again we wait and wait. Finally another server brings it out and its wrong. They brought out their Mexican version of guacamole. We only wanted the regular type. So back to waiting. Finally we have our dip. We ordered Steak and Chicken Fajitas for one and wanted to split the order. I asked for a extra order of tortillas. So when we get our lunch order another server brings it out and they only bring one plate and no extra order of tortillas. So off to "No Where" they go. Out of "No Where" comes our original server who brings my extra plate and tortillas. Like I said the Fajitas are great but they need help on the service side. We just understand that when we go here that the service is always going to poor. So now you know what the locals know about this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busterbugs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Service & Margaritas!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Medium, frozen, no salt. Great margaritas paired with cheese dip and jalapeños is all you need. In the summer - get a coveted table on the deck for an epic night of fun with your loved ones and friends. The manager and the team of servers are great people and are personable. This is not your average Tex-me food. They have great plates! 5 stars!

Helpful?
Thank BryanMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed This Local Mexican Restaurant - First Visit!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had gone to the N. GA mountains for a festival and headed home a different way and saw this little Mexican restaurant right before all the busy area and thought we would give it a try and we were glad we did! They had really good chips, salsa, cheese dip and margaritas along with our entrees. I had something our daughter seems to get a lot in our home town and I had never seen it on the menu - grilled chicken, rice and cheese. My husband tried the burrito. We were both very pleased and will visit again when we are in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loribledsoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jinete Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Dawsonville, GA
 

Been to El Jinete Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing