We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Mexican Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Campesino

El Campesino
Ranked #29 of 71 Restaurants in Dawsonville
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We are regulars at this restaurant not only for the atmosphere but for the good down to Mexican food. When you arrive there is little wait time for a seat either at a booth or table.
The menu is packed with items including a bargain listing as well as a side menu for lunch time.
Having been there several times we look forward to going back as you can relax while eating and drinking,

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our favorite Mexican place in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We love El Campesino. Of course we go all the time so they know us.The portions are perfect and the food is always fresh.

We've been in before and wanted something that didn't appear on the menu. After talking it over with the server, it came out just as we pictured. They are great!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DERALF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not so good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

OK...here is the skinny on Tex-Mex in Dawsonville. There is usually at least 1 good Mexican restaurant in almost every town. Unfortunately it is not El Campesino. Take a look at the entrance as you walk in. The sidewalk is covered with old gum. The lack of cleanliness upon entering the front door tells the story. I really don't even need to say anything about the food at this point. When my wife and I entered we commented to each other about all these things but the rating of 90 A made us think that perhaps the food deserved at least a try. Big mistake. Poor quality hamburger and the red sauce on the burrito was a joke. It resembled the sauce of spaghetti-o's from a can of Chef Boyardee just didn't taste as good. Would have to say that the only respectable item was a chicken taco. The chicken was really very tender and flavorful. Not sure how they get by with this iced tea in the south but you will defiantly need something to wash down the food. The service was friendly and fast but could not make up for the poor quality food. After 30+ years in Atlanta, El Torero still can't be beat for all around good Tex-Mex.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelforward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
512 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good Food - decent portions - laid back atmoshphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were on a shopping trip to the Outlet Mall and did not feel like eating at the Mall Food Court. So we drop to this restaurant. The food is pretty decent. The free chips and salsa was very good. The chips were fresh and hot....We ordered the Mexican Guacamole appetizer and we felt it was very bland. Needed salt and some kick to it. We also ordered a Mango Margarita and that was very good.I had the vegetable fajitas and my wife and a lunch combo of burrito, enchilada and tostada.... We felt that our entrees were very good. Service was prompt...food was hot and fresh and the atmosphere was laid back..and the prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shanker B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bland”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Food was not good, cheap quality meat, made me and my fiance kind of sick, way better experience at El Jine Te across the street. This is not authentic Mexican food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodcritique32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Campesino also viewed

 
 

Been to El Campesino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing