We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some things lacking but will return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dawsonville
Sugar Land, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Some things lacking but will return”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I understand a renovation is coming up, and it is needed. We rented a junior suite, which was nice and clean and reasonably kept, though aging. We did not get maid service even though we left a sign on the door requesting it. Still though, we love this place and have hopes that the lodge will be better in the future.

Room Tip: If you want a higher end room, try the Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christian30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Amicalola Falls Lodge, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thanks for taking time to share your experience, and I am glad you enjoyed your visit to the park. I apologize that we failed to deliver service to your room, and I will be looking at our system and making changes as necessary to address that concern. I am excited to be the new general manager here and we will be focusing on delivering excellence in every area. We look forward to having you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    117
    55
    31
    14
See reviews for
97
125
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay despite the fact that the lodge was in the clouds during our overnight stay. Somehow, we got a very nice corner suite that would have been spectacular. Dinner and breakfast were quite good served buffet style. Staff was particularly helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: I understand that the facility will get a major upgrade soon. The walk to the falls was quite spect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Amicalola Falls Lodge, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
I’m delighted you have a good visit. I appreciate your kind works and will look forward to having you stay with us again in the future- Hopefully without the clouds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atanta, GA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I just returned from staying at the lodge for 3 nights. The exterior is quite modern and up-to-date but once I entered my room I was shocked! The wall paper was peeling, the appointments were very worn out and the bathroom ceiling was COVERED in black mold. The mattress boxsprings had stains on the sides that looked as if someone may have been sick in bed.

The area is amazing and the staff was pleasant but the hotel is beat and should have been updated at least 10 years ago.

VERY disappointed.

Room Tip: DON'T stay here until they update their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveLoggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Amicalola Falls Lodge, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
I regret that the lodge rooms fell short of your expectations, and I am glad that you enjoyed your time in the park. We are a state park and facility and are very excited that monies for extensive renovations have been approved, and will begin over the coming months. I am the new general manager and I am excited to be here. I appreciate your feedback and I look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

After 10 yrs of visting this Lodge, this trip was very disappointing. The first time staying ing in the Executive Suite(WHAT A JOKE), the description of the room on the web site REALLY NEEDS UPDATING. Brought food to cook, NO COOK TOP, the room was way outdated, rather have stayed in the JR. Suite, lots of stains on walls, curtains, the garden tub was in terrible shape, an elder people could not even get in that tub, hard for us and we are in good health,For $436.00 for 3 nights, i demand more for my money, and that price was even with our Senior Discount, NO MORE BREAKFAST COUPONS, THAT SINKS!!!! Buffett was ok, but was way OVERPRICED, especially for SENIORS, and the Buffett should include YOUR DRINK. The weather was breezy and cold, NO FIREPLACE WAS EVEN ON!! WHAT THE HECK!!! The staff was friendly, but only wanted to blame everything on the NEW MANAGEMENT AND THE RENOVATIONS TO COME. THE ONLY BRIGHT SPOT ON THIS TRIP WAS THE BEAUTIFUL VIEWS.
MANAGEMENT!!!!!!!
PLEASE DO NOT LET THIS LODGE GO DOWN HILL!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dkstalvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Amicalola Falls Lodge, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Hello, my name is Cynthia, and I am the new general manager for the Amicalola Falls Lodge and State Park. I am so excited to join Lori and her team here and I have enjoyed the falls personally for many years. I share your passion for saving this beautiful asset. We appreciate your feedback and we are working diligently to assure that the facilities will be here for everyone to enjoy for many years to come. I appreciate our returning guest and I do hope that you will stop and introduce yourself on a future visit to Amicalola.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

LIke most people say.. OK, Average at best.. bit pricey for dated rooms. Exeterior and interior in major need of updating and renovations. Peeling paint, rotten wood, mold mildew, broken tiles inside and out. Buffet ok but overpriced.. Great scenery, location, hikes and water fall. I'd say at $85 or less per nite it is worth it, but more than that you are getting hosed. I'd recommend a day trip and stay some place else in Ellijay, Canton, Dawsonville, Dahlonega, Helen, or perhaps, Blue Ridge. Good NOTE: Owl/Raptor show was very informative and enjoyable for kids, but perhaps a bit Too long. IMAO.. Enjoy and please pick up and do not litter.. Thanks !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Amicalola Falls Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. The Lodge and cabins have been recently renovated, so we hope you will come and enjoy the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I can only reiterate what others have said about the lodge. We stayed there last week for two nights. First let me say what is good about it. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The lodge and the room were clean, and the views overlooking the valley were quite lovely. Here are the problems. The lodge is at least 15 miles from the next town, so unless you bring your own food, you are limited to the mediocre buffets for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. There is no place to get a light meal, such as sandwiches, salads, etc. Our stay for two days was around $350, and I can tell you,the room wasn't half as good as the $50 rooms we had in the rest of northern Georgia. There were two holes in the table next to the bed. There was no microwave, no refrigerator, no closet-just a wooden box with a rod to hang clothes. And there was no internet. Lots of apologies and promises of renovations at the front desk, but we spent two days without being able to use our laptop to do research for our travel. The park is great, but I wouldn't recommend that you stay at the Lodge. Stay in nearby Dahlonega, which is a nice artsy little town with all of the amenities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cassie503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Where to begin? Most of the food sucks, but I covered that in my review of the restaurant. The lodge looks great from afar, and it provides great views, but upon closer examination, you'll see problems everywhere. There is a nice back patio with views of the valley. Unfortunately, a lot of the paint on the columns is pealing off. It doesn't look good. The floor was composed of slate tiles, many of which were cracked. In one spot, the tile was just missing entirely. That can be a walking hazard. I can't imagine a wedding or reception being held on the patio considering the shape it is in.

On the inside, the lobby does look nice. There is a nice view of the countryside from the hotel atrium. The fireplace was not on, even though it probably should have been (I don't know if it was broken or not, but considering everything else, it probably was). We had a great view from inside our room. Most of the rooms face towards the valley. We had a room with double beds. But now we saw issues. Stain spots on the walls. Stain drips on the walls. Stains on the bedspread. House keeping didn't even bother to vacuum the room. Over the next few days, house keeping STILL didn't vacuum! The cloth chairs had holes in them, and you could see the internal stuffing showing. There was medicine left in the drawers from the previous guest. No mini-fridge or microwave. A big cathode ray tube TV. I thought all hotels had replaced those old TV's with flat screens. Not the Amicolola Falls Lodge! (Oddly enough, there IS a flat screen TV for the public in the downstairs lobby.) There was a bench in the room that was really just a rectangular box. It was wasted space. The inside could of been used for storage, or it could have had small shelves on the side. There just wasn't a lot of storage space available, and yet there could have been more than there was. The bed was too soft, as if it had been the same mattress used since 1980. At least the pillowcase and the sheets didn't were stain free. Until house keeping came in....and replaced the pillowcase with one that had three spot stains on it!! How is that pillowcase still being used?? The bathroom had a weird smell. To me, it smelled as if the previous guests smoked in the bathroom, even though there was no smoking allowed in the hotel. I only have one allergy: cigarette smoke. Over the next few days, my nose was runny or clogged, and I only sneezed in the room. This confirmed for me that someone had smoked in the room. The bathroom must have had a leak previously, as you could see where the repairs were made and it was painted over. The bathroom fan didn't work, so it stayed humid. With the bathroom humid, there was mildew on the walls. Not in the seams or corners (which isn't uncommon), but ON THE WALLS! The toilet tank had an internal problem, because every 10 minutes it would kick in refilling itself. The sink had a handle that was so large it extended half way over the sink! I've never seen a sink knob so long like that in a hotel. I tried to connect to the internet without success. The front desk told me it was down. But after talking to a fellow vacationer, I found out that the staff had use of the internet for their internal system. The fact that those who stayed at the hotel didn't have internet access was related to the wireless router. And while they kept saying it was going to be fixed, it never was during my stay. Having a business center might have solved that problem. Oh wait, they don't have that either.

The bright spots? The desk staff were always nice. The gift shop was nice. Waking up with such a great view was nice. But I should have read the reviews on the lodge before coming here. Never in my wildest dreams did I think it would be this bad. At least there were no bugs in the room.

Lori, the manager of the lodge, has made several comments to previous posts. As far back as March of 2013, she mentioned upcoming renovations. If you know your lodge isn't up to standards, why don't you tell people this? Why don't you reduce your rates? How can you offer a substandard room for a standard price? Would you pay full price for a used car? I can understand holding off on some capital expenses because of the upcoming renovations. One of the new things I hope you buy are cigarette smoke detectors. They exist. And charge guests even more for smoking in the rooms. In post responses, Lori says she cares. But what has she done to improve the cleaning at least? How are upcoming renovations any excuse for the lack of vacuuming or cleaning the mildew off the walls? Do budget constraints prevent you from hiring more people? Then get some of your current staff (or you yourself) involved with the cleaning. I can't imagine that the lodge can't afford a few bucks for some Clorox bathroom spray. Same goes for the stains on the pillowcases. Buy a new pillowcase. I've read the reviews on the cabins, and cleaning seems to be an issue there as well. Since there are some easy fixes for cleaning, the lack of cleaning in the rooms comes down to only one thing: laziness. That's usually there because people just don't care.

Room Tip: Stay at the Comfort Inn in Dawsonville. It will provide you with better rooms for a better price. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maketrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawsonville
3.6 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
18.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Dawsonville
110 reviews
22.0 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
445 reviews
14.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Jasper
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amicalola Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amicalola Falls Lodge

Property: Amicalola Falls Lodge
Address: 418 Amicalola Falls Lodge Dr, Dawsonville, GA 30534-1009
Location: United States > Georgia > Dawsonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dawsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amicalola Falls Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High in the North Georgia Mountains is Amicalola Falls State Park home of Amicalola Falls Lodge. Named after the Cherokee word for “tumbling waters” Amicalola Falls is one of the most popular state parks in Georgia. The park’s namesake is the 729-foot falls: the highest cascading waterfall east of the Mississippi River. The park is also the start of the 8-mile approach trail to Springer Mountain, the southern end of the 2,150-mile Appalachian Trail. The Lodge was built in 1990 by the State of Georgia, with 56 guestrooms in the main lodge and 14 cabins along with a gift shop, meeting space and a mountain view restaurant. The lodge rooms vary from standard hotel rooms with 2 double beds, loft suites that can sleep 6, to king bed suites with private balconies. The Lodge also is home to The Maple Restaurant that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. The Lodge rests on 829 acres with on-site activities that include stream or pond fishing, as well as more than twelve miles of hiking trails, several centering on viewing the spectacular 729-foot waterfall. Amicalola Falls Lodge features more than 4,000 square feet of meeting space that can host groups and social events consisting of up to 150 people in traditional meeting spaces as well as a unique outdoor veranda setting. The Lodge’s spectacular view, peaceful setting, and exceptional service make it a destination not to be missed while in the North Georgia Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Amicalola Falls Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amicalola Falls State Park Hotel Dawsonville
Amicalola Falls State Park And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing