We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing with beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dawsonville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Beautiful views, pleasant staff, price could have been better for an outdated room. Paid $119 (special deal)for a $80 room. Regular price is $176. Rooms are in desperate need of an update. View from the mountainside rooms are awesome. Buffet had a great selection for lunch and breakfast. Dinner could have offered some kid friendly choices, still taste was very good. Room was clean however toliet was overlooked. Looked as though it had not been flushed in over a month. A little bleach and scrub could of handled that before our arrival. Something that shouldn't have been overlooked. Staff was awesome. Melinda at front desk was exceptional with over the phone reservations. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannette7134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori V, General Manager at Amicalola Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your most recent visit. We are constantly looking for ways to improve and grow. We hope to see you again so that we can earn back your confidence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 376 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at a holiday in express on the way up here that was 10x nicer and cleaner than this place for half the money. Like a previous poster said, motel 6 with a view. Our suite had a pull out sleeper bed for the kids, the mattress was old with water damage and mildew stains. I don't care how close you are to a renovation, this is disgusting. There were 5 dead bugs under the sofa bed. Three buy the king bed. Holy crap run a vacum through this place. All if the bugs were lady bugs, if they would have been roaches we would have ran away from here. I feel like I through away $450 for 2 nights and have nothing to show for it. I was robbed!!! Plain and simple. Robbed!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slbpsi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori V, General Manager at Amicalola Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for your comments about your stay at our Lodge. You may have heard that we are in the process of a large renovation that will upgrade our rooms as well as what we offer to our guests. We sincerely hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future and allow us to win you over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This old style mountain lodge is near the top of Amicalola Falls (see separate review), way up a mountain. As the title says, location and views are phenomenal. But...the lodge really needs updating. It's old. Period. Limited menu/poor service in the dining room. Plenty of parking. It is owned and run by the State of Georgia. The lost opportunity is that this property could be a world class lodge if they'd lease it to a company that runs other world class lodges with all modern amenities and dining.

Should you visit? YES...the falls is worth it. This property minus the falls is just an old, fading mountain lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorenbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori V, General Manager at Amicalola Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments and let me be the first to tell you about our upcoming renovations that will include, the rooms, cabins, restaurant and lobby areas. We look forward to you visiting us again and letting us show off the new Amicalola Falls Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Staff was great and helpful at every turn. Restaurant was surprisingly reasonable and food was tasty (did not have breakfast). The view from our room was one of a kind and made the trip worthwhile. I would recommend anyone to stay their ONCE.

With all the positives listed above, the out and out cheapness of the room was almost laughable. It really took away from our experience and was not fair to the effort of the employees of this establishment that did make our stay enjoyable. Without them, this review would be a bad one.

I ,like others on this website, do not mind paying a premium for an enjoyable experience. But don't charge me 2013 prices for a 1980's room. Everything was dated and mismatched. It was like sleeping in a thrift store. I almost had to go down to the parking lot and get my binoculars so I could watch TV on the tiny little screen. Middle of the week and I paid $100 to look out a window. I don't think so.

It is not fair that I am going to give this place 3 stars. But it is also not fair to me or the employees of this hotel to be subjected to this level of cheapness.

Room Tip: Get mountain view or go home. The view is the only reason we did not go back down to the desk and as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LckydevL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori V, General Manager at Amicalola Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay at Amicalola Falls Lodge. The staff here strives to offer exceptional customer service and I am glad to see they succeeded. I am excited to tell you that we are in the planning stages of a huge renovation that will address your concerns about the accommodations. We look forward to you visiting again and letting us show you all our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The lodge is beautiful and truly located in a great place. We were a little disappointed with the rooms. Lodge rooms in state parks are normally small but in this case we paid top dollar (on a Sunday night) so I expected more. Typical state lodge with no extras like a fridge or micro wave again not an issue if the rooms are priced better but the price here is high. Another real disappointment was the internet, we were told that we could "maybe get a signal in the lobby" but never could get connected and although we had a strong signal even in our room located a long way from the lobbie we got the dreaded "limited or no conductivity" icon. To sum it up this is a great lodge in a great location but the price must be lower for a sub-par room or upgrades are needed soon. It is 2013 and internet is a MUST if you charge upward over $100 a night. On a positive note, our hairdryer did not work and a call to the front desk had a maintenance man up in less than 10 minutes with a replacement.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerGEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori V, General Manager at Amicalola Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your most recent stay. We understand that the internet can be an issue and would like to assure you that we are working on a solution with the local phone company. You may have heard that we are in the planning process of a big renovation in our rooms and cabins and are very excited to upgrade. We look forward to your next visit and giving us the chance to gain your trust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

As the starting point for our Appalachian Trail hike the lodge served us well. Beautiful, impressive facility with rooms that are average. Large dining area. Buffet was OK but not special. Scenery exceptional and roads climb some steep grades. Have good brakes if you go.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori V, General Manager at Amicalola Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you taking the time to comment about your stay with us. We are constantly looking for ways to improve and hope you will join us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Here is the low down. Decent hotel. Typical lodge but if your expecting nice than you might want to try somewhere else. Rooms are comparing to a motel 6 and can range anywher from 110-250 per night based on the season and that is just a typical 2 full size bed room. No fridge but hey they don't have them at motel 6 either. However a motel 6 is usually 40-60 bucks tops. Your paying for scenery. My best bet for you would be visit the park and stay somewhere else especially if you refuse to stay at a motel 6. I don't mind where I stay I'm not pickey except that I felt overcharged for what was offered. If it had been 40-60 my expectations are a lot lower. If you can't handle old, dingy and not properly managed you wil hate it here. Your choice!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori V, General Manager at Amicalola Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your comments about your stay at our Lodge. You may have heard that we are in the process of a large renovation that will upgrade our rooms as well as what we offer to our guests. We sincerely hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future and allow us to win you over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawsonville
3.6 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
22 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
320 reviews
18.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Dawsonville
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blue Ridge
15.7 mi away
Best Western Mountain View Inn
20.3 mi away
Seventy-four Ranch
Seventy-four Ranch
#2 of 4 in Jasper
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amicalola Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amicalola Falls Lodge

Address: 418 Amicalola Falls Lodge Dr, Dawsonville, GA 1212
Location: United States > Georgia > Dawsonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dawsonville
Price Range: $106 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amicalola Falls Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High in the North Georgia Mountains is Amicalola Falls State Park home of Amicalola Falls Lodge. Named after the Cherokee word for “tumbling waters” Amicalola Falls is one of the most popular state parks in Georgia. The park’s namesake is the 729-foot falls: the highest cascading waterfall east of the Mississippi River. The park is also the start of the 8-mile approach trail to Springer Mountain, the southern end of the 2,150-mile Appalachian Trail. The Lodge was built in 1990 by the State of Georgia, with 56 guestrooms in the main lodge and 14 cabins along with a gift shop, meeting space and a mountain view restaurant. The lodge rooms vary from standard hotel rooms with 2 double beds, loft suites that can sleep 6, to king bed suites with private balconies. The Lodge also is home to The Maple Restaurant that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. The Lodge rests on 829 acres with on-site activities that include stream or pond fishing, as well as more than twelve miles of hiking trails, several centering on viewing the spectacular 729-foot waterfall. Amicalola Falls Lodge features more than 4,000 square feet of meeting space that can host groups and social events consisting of up to 150 people in traditional meeting spaces as well as a unique outdoor veranda setting. The Lodge’s spectacular view, peaceful setting, and exceptional service make it a destination not to be missed while in the North Georgia Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Groupon, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Amicalola Falls Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amicalola Falls State Park And Lodge
Amicalola Falls State Park Hotel Dawsonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing