We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your first choice at Amicalola”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dawsonville
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Your first choice at Amicalola”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very beautiful lodge. The staff went out of their way in every way. I also liked working with the park rangers. The restaurant staff couldn't be better. I left an item in my room and they mailed it out the same day that I called.

The view in the lobby of the lodge is spectacular, particularly in the fall. Someone mentioned that there were bugs in the lodge but I didn't see any in any of my visits.

The wi-fi could have been better but I was there to relax, not surf the internet

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pappylongstockings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    121
    57
    33
    14
See reviews for
101
131
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is one of the best kept secrets in the US. The view is breath taking. The hikes are exceptional. The cost, including breakfast, is very affordable. We’ve stayed there twice this year, 2 nights the end of April and 2 nights the end of July. I recommend the end of April for better temperatures. The Hike to the falls is very easy. From the lodge it is less than a mile. They also have a number of long hikes. I recommend the 5 mile hike to Hike Inn.
The rooms, furniture and beds of showing their age but still comfortable. All in all great value for your money and a great adventure.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imcglo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Horrible disgusting experience in the cottage. Having left a beautiful property off vrbo for $25 less a night we were bombarded with the stench of the cottage. The cottage was very old with slightly newer furnishings. There were spider webs in the shower's corner and mold (no doubt the source of the smell) on the ceiling in one bedroom. It gave new meaning to rustic. I inquired about a room at the lodge costing a bit more but did not have a way to keep the groceries I had purchased cold. On our second morning, I awoke to 11 bites on my torso. I feared bedbugs but my daughter who shared the bed with me had zero bites. Later in the day,I found a rather large spider residing the the room with me, likely the source of my bites. I quickly then packed up and went to the lodge. The staff was very sympathetic and accomodating. The new room was smelled much better and was given a fridge, albeit dirty, to hold the last of my food. Additionally, the visitors center gave us bad information on a trail head access an hour away. When we arrived at the trail head it was closed for parking lot repairs. Our choice was a mile longer trail or another hour road trip. The visitors center should have known the us forest service had the facility closed. This was an extraordinary disappointment.

Room Tip: I was told the cottages would be updated in January 2013. We switched to a Loft room, which was ok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton WV
Level Contributor
169 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

With my husband's goal of hiking the Appalation Trail, you have to start at the beginning. That means Springer Mountain in Georgia. Amicalola Fall State Park and Lodge is the nearest place, and it does just fine. The views are unparallaled (we watched in awe a storm come up, over and pass us from the room window-amazing), and it's the best location to get an early start to the Springer Mountain hike-in. The restaurant there was more than servicable, with tasty buffet breakfast and dinner. The room was clean.
The beds could use new mattresses, and the decor is a bit dated. I wasn't expecting a resort experience. The prices were a little on the higher side, but the staff was great. The gift shop was a bit lacking. Overall, we were very happy with the accomodations.

Room Tip: Book early-we only had choice of rooms with double beds-we would have been happier with a queen or l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lspdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The Staff are fantastic and exceptionally friendly and helpful in every way. The public areas of the lodge are lovely and well decorated. The rooms are average, and a bit on the shabby side for the price we paid. On arrival we were told the room we had reserved (with a loft) was "not usable" and our replacement room (the only room they claim was left) was suffering a plumbing problem.... the Tub/Shower faucet was not able to be turned off, and there was a Stream of water coming from it, not just a drip drip drip. Luckily there was a door between the bath & the room, so we could sleep. The staff was kind enough to offer us a complementary dinner for the inconvenience, and we accepted the room as we were only there one night. The only alternative would have been to go looking for a room elsewhere. The staff said they attempted to call us for hours, but I never received any calls. The window mechanisms were so corroded the windows did not open, but that turned out to be a blessing once the rooms were filled with guests. When everyone turned on their ac units at night, it sounded like an airplane was landing outside our window. The Breakfast buffet included in the room price was actually a full breakfast menu including waffles, eggs, meats, fruit, yogurt, juices, cereals, breads.....the works.

The mountain view from the room was excellent, and the staff are wonderful. Other motels in the area are also quite pricey and also get pretty bad reviews, so I guess it's a trade off to be in a lovely, secluded lodge rather than some dreadful roadside motel. Given the alternatives in this price point, I would still recommend this property to anyone visiting Amicalola Falls for a one night stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, otherwise what's the point of staying here?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

I can't say it any better than "dustglittervapor" did in their 6/14/12 review. We stayed in the executive suite and it felt more like a downgrade rather than upgrade. I've stayed in their regular rooms before but none are in disrepair like the executive suite. To add to the issues that dustglittervapor pointed out, the sinks were impossible to control the water temperature and the tiles on the tub surface are literally separated. You can pick them up with no effort. No glue no nothing. And the tub is disgustingly stained with mold. Again, this isn't the staffs fault, it's the state of Georgia who refuses to fund these tourist havens. Even though I read the review here before I left I never imagined how accurate it really was. And for those like me who think rollaways are available in lieu of the insleepable sofa bed, think again. There are no roll always options here. Thank you Georgia. This is not how I imagined having you "on my mind."

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KosherPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed in one of the cabins here in April.The cabin was cozy,the falls are beautiful,and the staff very courtious.The beds are comfortable and the fire outside relaxing.The price is good as well.The only complaints we had were for some reason some of the cable channels would not come in,and their appeared to be some mildew on the tiled shower floor,and you need to go elsewhere to trout fish,Suches is a good spot from what we've heard.Walking the trails is fun as parts were easy for our children to walk along.Would recomend this as a good weekend get away for couples and families.Don't know about honeymoons though.Will be back.

Room Tip: The smaller cabins are at the bottom of the falls close to the phone playground and stream with a fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RACEGRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawsonville
3.6 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
18.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Dawsonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
15.5 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
14.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Jasper
15.7 mi away
Best Western Mountain View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amicalola Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amicalola Falls Lodge

Property: Amicalola Falls Lodge
Address: 418 Amicalola Falls Lodge Dr, Dawsonville, GA 30534-1009
Location: United States > Georgia > Dawsonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dawsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amicalola Falls Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High in the North Georgia Mountains is Amicalola Falls State Park home of Amicalola Falls Lodge. Named after the Cherokee word for “tumbling waters” Amicalola Falls is one of the most popular state parks in Georgia. The park’s namesake is the 729-foot falls: the highest cascading waterfall east of the Mississippi River. The park is also the start of the 8-mile approach trail to Springer Mountain, the southern end of the 2,150-mile Appalachian Trail. The Lodge was built in 1990 by the State of Georgia, with 56 guestrooms in the main lodge and 14 cabins along with a gift shop, meeting space and a mountain view restaurant. The lodge rooms vary from standard hotel rooms with 2 double beds, loft suites that can sleep 6, to king bed suites with private balconies. The Lodge also is home to The Maple Restaurant that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. The Lodge rests on 829 acres with on-site activities that include stream or pond fishing, as well as more than twelve miles of hiking trails, several centering on viewing the spectacular 729-foot waterfall. Amicalola Falls Lodge features more than 4,000 square feet of meeting space that can host groups and social events consisting of up to 150 people in traditional meeting spaces as well as a unique outdoor veranda setting. The Lodge’s spectacular view, peaceful setting, and exceptional service make it a destination not to be missed while in the North Georgia Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Amicalola Falls Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amicalola Falls State Park Hotel Dawsonville
Amicalola Falls State Park And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing