We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!”

Dawsonville Moonshine Distillery
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Dawsonville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dahlonega
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was the best trip I have been on in a long time! Definitely a unique business. We got to see the folks there actually make real corn whiskey and it was great! We bought a bottle at the local liquor store and they even signed it for us. The whole visit was incredible. Highly recommend a vist to Dawsonville Moonshine Distillery.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
311 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Stills”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A unique place to visit. The staff were very friendly and informative. A little hard to find as it is not listed on our GPS and the address in one of the brochures was incorrect. We were glad we finally stumbled across it. You cannot purchase the moonshine there but have to purchase it at a liquor store. We drove to the liquor store made our purchase and drove back to the distillery to get the bottle signed. There is a race car museum right next door. The day we were there they were filming for a t.v series.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AineFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONROE
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“HAD A SAMPLE”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Went to Dawsonville to see the racecar museum and the distillery was included in the price. You get a free sample of moonshine and it was pretty good. Learned how the moonshine is made and that it is sold in liquor stores (didn't know that).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RACFAN0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“surprisingly fun”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

we went to this after the racecar museum. Both (same entrance fee, although I think you can go to the distillery free) were way more entertaining than I expected. We sampled moonshine (aka "corn whiskey") which is quite whiskey-like. The distiller was really enthusiastic about the process & we got to see the vats of fermenting corn slurry.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Small operation. Gives great view of history and the process used then and now. Small tour but they took the time to talk and answer all questions. No moonshine sold on site BUT you can buy bottle down the road and bring it in for them to sign the bottle. Awesome!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tlw911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawsonville Moonshine Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Dawsonville Moonshine Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing