We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of heaven on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Len Foote Hike Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawsonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Len Foote Hike Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Dawsonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A little piece of heaven on earth”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I can not thank the staff enough for making my visit to The Hike Inn so very memorable and special. The entire place was extremely clean, the food was incredibly delicious. I found the evening presentation by Bill and Wade to be a special perk and made the experience even more special. THANK YOU to everyone!

If anyone is wondering if this is a place to visit, do not hesitate. The hike is worth it, the staff is fantastic and the experience will last forever...
Dixie

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dixievet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    26
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
58
78
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I visited hike inn on a recent section hike of the AT. We started at the falls and hiked to woody gap, hike inn was our first night on the trail and a most welcome one. We hike the approach trail to the inn and made it I time for the tour and dinner. Both were out of this world! The staff was very knowledgeable and courteous and attended to our every need. Breakfast and sunrise at star base is not to be missed. There is nothing like enjoying a cup of coffee and watching the sun break over the blue ridge mountains illuminating the valley below. If you haven't been,GO!!!!

We WILL be back!!!!

Jeremy and Jennifer Peyton
Fleming Island Florida

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This inn is beautiful, the staff are wonderful, and the facility is ultra-sustainable! It's a wonderful place to take a hike-acation or spend a few relaxing days. I never pass up the chance to go here, and it's definitely a place that all should go to. If you love the outdoors, you'll love the Hike Inn. And if you don't yet love the outdoors, the Hike Inn just might be the place to change your mind. I've been here with friends and family and all who have gone have love it too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessPri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
321 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Hard to put this under the "hotel" category in TripAdvisor because it was so much more than just a hotel! The 5 mile hike was great - beautiful trees and good trail. The rooms were small and plain, and we made our bunks with the linens they gave us - it was like summer camp! The attention to detail and conservation were excellent. We packed everything in and out (no trash cans in the rooms or bathrooms). Composting toilets. Timers on the lights in the bathhouse. In the cafeteria everyone put names on their drinking glasses & mugs so they would be reused. The food we left on our plates was weighed after the meal to encourage folks to take only as much as they would eat. And the food was delicious! It was served family style and it was fun to get to know the other folks at the table. The staff gave a tour of the Hike Inn before dinner and explained a little history of the place, plus the solar panels, composting system, etc. Don't miss the morning sunrise - it is beautiful. Do this trip if you can! We only stayed one night, but if we did it again I would want to stay 2 nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njoytravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

A great way to educate my gradson on conservation. The 5 mile hike up was fun, not too strenous. My 10 year old grandson loved the hike and didn't complain at all on the way up. The trees are beautiful and the map gives you some great information to discuss. The accommodation is basic, bunk beds and communal ablutions but for a 10 year old he was in heaven. The tour of how the composting toilets work and the solar panels etc, was just great for a little boy. Then the games in the common room were just a perfect way to spend the evening. It was wonderful to spend the time free of electronic gadgets and TV. We went last summer and I am just now getting around to the review - but my grandson still talks about our night at Len Foote. Take the kids for a real memory making experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainhomegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

What beauty! Nature was demonstrating its best behavior when we were there. Thousands of shades of green surrounded the browns of tree trunks and rocks. I honestly doubted my ability to hike 5 miles of mountainous terrain, but I did it! Also 14 miles the next day and then 5 more miles back to the car. That sense of accomplishment is priceless. If you have ever thought about going - GO! I saw a black bear, scads of spiders, a red fox, bullfrogs, and absolutely no snakes (darn). I was able to complete the journey due to the support of my husband and kids, the friendly staff, the home cooked meals (JP makes the best vegies!), and the comraderie of fellow hikers. For entertainment there was even a bluegrass band one evening - The Barker Brothers. My only complaint would be the difficulty sleeping with my husband on a bunk bed. But, it was only 2 nights out of 17 years.

Go for 2 nights, rely on your inner self to conquer your personal mountains as you conquer the approach to the Appalachian Trail. You won't regret it one iota!

Room Tip: Get a room on the west side - away from the crowds, facing the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drjpepper64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Just back from a one night stay at Len Foote Hike Inn. It was fantastic!! The 5 mile hike was fun, nothing to strenuous. The Staff was friendly and helpful. The setting...beautiful. Try it, you will be glad you did!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawsonville
2.7 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
314 reviews
2.9 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
18.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Dawsonville
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain View Inn
13.0 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
153 reviews
28.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Len Foote Hike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Len Foote Hike Inn

Property: Len Foote Hike Inn
Address: Amicalola Falls State Park, Dawsonville, GA 30534
Location: United States > Georgia > Dawsonville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dawsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Len Foote Hike Hotel Dawsonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing