We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun”
Review of Len Foote Hike Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawsonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Len Foote Hike Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Dawsonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cartersville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lots of fun”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We had a great time when we went in January. The weather was perfect and the hike was really enjoyable. It wasn't too hard, so don't be scared away by the fact that it is 5 miles. The lodge itself was really comfortable and the food was great. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. Make sure you save some time for the tour of the facilities. It was interesting to see how they make the inn so ecofriendly. It was a wonderful experience, though if you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. The rooms aren't well insulated from noise from other rooms. I was worried that it might be cold, based on some of the other reviewers, but we were quite toasty warm! This was truly a unique experience, and you get to know your fellow guests. I highly recommend visiting!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archanthro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    26
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
59
83
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We did a December hike to the HIke Inn on December 23 and hiked back out on December 24. It was a wonderful way to start our holiday week. The hike itself is moderate and the trail is very well maintained. The Hike Inn is wonderful -- sheets and towels waiting in comfortable bunkrooms, warm showers, a delicous family style dinner and breakfast, social time playing games and a night of great sleep. The sunrise on our visit was glorious. Highly recommend this experience if you love hiking and being outdoors. We will be there again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jocole74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Very unique experience. The 5 mile hike is beautiful and not too difficult. The staff was very friendly and gracious from the moment of arrival to our departure. Loved everything about the place. It was sold out the night we were there, but the staff was fantastic at managing everything. Lots of delicious food - dinner was roast beef, mashed potatoes and gravy, dinner rolls, tossed salad, honey glazed carrots, and choc chip ooey-gooey for dessert. Breakfast was sausage patties, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, grits, and 4 kinds of cold cereal. Loved sitting and chatting with all the other guests over the food. The guests ranged from families with babies and children, to young couples to retirees.
My advice to people -know what this place is. It is not a traditional hotel. You are handed your linens and towels in a bag upon arrival for you to make up your bunk bed. The rooms are very small and rustic, but extremely clean. The bathrooms are in a separate building and very clean. There are no trash cans, so you pack out whatever you pack in. No cell phones, no tv, no radio. Since the rooms are not really designed for lounging, everyone was congregating in the dining area or the game room which made for great conversations.
I also wished we had stayed two nights. By the time you hike up, there isn't a whole lot of time to enjoy the place. If you go for one night, start hiking early, by 9am, so you have time to enjoy the surroundings.

Room Tip: Room 12 is closest to the bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ampanmangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, tn
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Luxury outdoors-this is it! 5 mile hike to the Inn. Pleasantly surprised by the beautiful lodge. The accommodations were warm & comfortable. Linen and towels are provided at check-in. Extremely friendly informative staff. They offer a tour daily, very telling of the property, worth the go. Food is beyond exceptional, served "family style" (great conversation w/fellow hikers) we had roasted turkey, carrots, salad, and rice pilaf with rolls. Blueberry pie for dessert, Yum. HOT showers! Composting toilets-absolutely odor free. Simply a peaceful relaxing family time. They have a sunrise room with board games, puzzles, cards, etc. to reconnect with your family. We played horseshoes outdoors, can't remember when I last did that! Oh & the mountain sunrise/sunset views are just amazing. We can't wait to come back again! My teenaged son loved it! Wish we knew of this place sooner!
PS..Don't forget to tip the exceptional staff, they perform their job so wonderfully!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenbuick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

After a 5 mile hike up the mountain it was a welcome site! Everyone who worked there were friendly and helpful. The place was rustic but clean. Even though it was December and cold we were always comfortable. The food was incredible, especially for me...I'm gluten free (15 years). I've never eaten so well, even my sack lunch was specially prepared for me...I felt like a queen the entire weekend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Len Foote Hike Inn is a first class adventure. No disappointments. Our expectations for clean, hospitable, trail side accommodations were exceeded.
Plentiful and hardy meals were enjoyed in the dining hall with "family style" service.
Highly recommended for those seeking a comfortable night while enjoying the beautiful Appilacian Trail.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronzhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

The Hike Inn is a perfect quick trip for us from Atlanta. the 5 mile hike in is "just tough" enough. You travel up & down several small mountains on safe trails (although- you must watch the trail for rocks & roots). We stayed 1 night. We arrived around 4:30- in time to relax on the big porch. We enjoyed a huge buffet style meal of roast beef, corn casserole, & salad. There are no tv's. You are asked to refrain from using your cell phone. They want you to relax, unwind, and enjoy nature. We had kids from 11-18 with us and they all had a blast! The bath house & bunk rooms were clean. We'll be back again.

Room Tip: only one bunk oom as an outlet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jricephoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawsonville
2.7 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
345 reviews
2.9 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
20.5 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 9 in Dahlonega
481 reviews
16.8 mi away
Best Western Mountain View Inn
13.3 mi away
Hall House Hotel
Hall House Hotel
#6 of 8 in Dahlonega
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Len Foote Hike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Len Foote Hike Inn

Property: Len Foote Hike Inn
Address: Amicalola Falls State Park, Dawsonville, GA 30534
Location: United States > Georgia > Dawsonville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dawsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Len Foote Hike Hotel Dawsonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing