We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service & BBq!”
Review of Big D's BBQ

Big D's BBQ
Ranked #1 of 73 Restaurants in Dawsonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent service & BBq!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We live close by yet haven't stopped in until today. Our loss- it was excellent! The service was over the top, and that is one reason to come alone. The BBQ was perfect- try the brownie sandwich! Yum!! One other note- we spent a week in Key West lookin for the perfect key lime pie- and didn't find it. Do you know? It was here all along. If you come and want nothing but that pie, you'll be happy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffreysgirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    65
    35
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The ribs are tender but the smoke flavor is missing”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Sometimes BBQ joints hide their true flavor behind the sauce. Not in this case The ribs are very good here. I ordered a rack.The portion size was a wee bit smaller than what i would have expected. I had wolf creeks in Ellijay the day before they had better flavor. But these ribs almost fell off the bone there good

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rivon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“really great bbq pork.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

ordered togo served dry rally good and too much to eat really good value compared with other bbq restaurants that sell it wet.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Finally some good Bar B que”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have drive by this hole in wall restaurant on the way to Kroger and more! I kept wondering why sometimes lot of cars then others not so many. Well many people order this food to go but others enjoy the small eating area. I ordered mine to go but watched to make sure the people seating were getting great service. Man the meat is cooked great then for the bar b que pork pulled the sauce is on the side and fabulous! i can not wait to try the ribs. Oh yea kids get mini moon pies with their meals! The kid said the chicken tenders were the best!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Hole in the wall connected to a gas station, but the 'cue is great. Brunswick stew was the best I've had in a long time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big D's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Big D's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing