We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hiking amicalola falls-chasing waterfalls”

Amicalola Falls State Park
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Dawsonville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to more than 1,500 acres of mountainous terrain and the highest waterfall east of the Mississippi River.
Johnson City,TN
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“hiking amicalola falls-chasing waterfalls”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Beautiful falls! Well worth the long drive! It is good very people who do not even hike. Can do in tennis shoes. Good loop trails with good trail to be on. Not strenous. Very nice. Awesome falls! One that all waterfall chasers have to see

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JHutchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    728
    211
    24
    9
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ahhhhhhmazing!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. Going all the way down and back up the falls is quite a workout though so be prepared but the payoff is heaven.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunnel Hill, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Icy Water”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

These falls are beautiful year round! Back in March they were very icy with spears if ice hanging from a few points along the exposed rocks along the falls.Good hiking area here also. Another park in the Georgia State Park system.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spectaular Views”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

First we had breakfast at the lodge. Yummy breafast buffet. Then we went into the gift shop. The gal gave us a tip on the best views of the falls, without all the walking (per my husbands request). We went to the middle of the falls and made the trek to the falls. Just stunning. I've not seen views like that ever. It was so pretty.

Loved how they utilized recycled materials for the walk to and from the falls.

I was fascinated at how well kept the entire area was and how nice it wasl.

VERY much enjoyed it and will definitely be back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChellCrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mars
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tornado warning didn't ruin it!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

In spite of the tornado warning, the staff handled things well and our 30 minutes on the bottom floor of the lodge was just another chance to meet some neat people and share our travels. We had very little time to see the falls and the rubberized path to the middle was just what we had time for (before it rained). Hopefully we can return in better weather and enjoy the trails. Ken and Taylor were most helpful, and Angela was the best when I called about a problem with the website reservation. (Don't use the website; be sure to call).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RAMMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amicalola Falls State Park also viewed

 

Been to Amicalola Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing