We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood with Soul”

Skipper's Fish Camp
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Darien
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Seafood with Soul”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Country cooking with a touch of Soul. Fried Flounder, gator tails, grouper... collard greens, fries... nice variety, great taste and wonderful service. Relaxed atmosphere and kids are welcome. Visit if you're anywhere close.. it's worth it. If you're lucky you will see a gator or two.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yaser z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    730
    306
    84
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Shrimp and Grits”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I was traveling with my kids on I-95, along the coast of Georgia, and we got hungry. I saw a sign for a seafood restaurant just a few miles off the highway that was on the water. Skipper's Fish Camp is hidden behind some small old historic buildings with small quaint shops. There's a bridge and the restaurant is next to it with a shrimp trawler moored at the end of a long dock. The menu had lots of seafood, but my daughter, Courtney, chose the 'Gator Bites.' She loved them.

My son had the fresh catch sandwich of the day; Mahi-Mahi. He said it was the best fish sandwich he's ever had. That didn't sit well with me because I happen to make fantastic fish sandwiches. I think the phrase, 'fresh-caught' fish is the answer. In Cleveland, Ohio where we live, most salt water fish in the markets are either frozen first, or have had a long journey to the market.

I couldn't have anything but Shrimp, since they catch it right off the shores. Wow! I was right. The, 'Shrimp and Grits' was unbelievable. In a large bowl is grits covered in melted cheese and crumbled bacon. Then 10 nice size shrimp (I had mine blackened) on top. Each bite was delectable and made me grown with pleasure. My kids did not like that part, but I couldn't help it, it was that good.

I will be back anytime I come close to this place, even if it takes me an hour out of my way.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PickyRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Yummmy Relaxing Family Fun”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Our family of 4 stopped by Skipper's Fish Camp on the drive from St Augustine to Hilton Head Island. My 9 year old ordered the steamed oysters and the waitress opened all the shells for her to make it easier to eat. My 3 year old had a huge portion of collards, bbq pulled pork, and most of my salad. I enjoyed the shrimp stuffed potato and my husband had the fried seafood platter. Delicious!!! and the staff were so friendly. Also there is a little water feature in the front full of fish and turtles that entertained my 3 year old until the food came. We also walked out on the water front area to look at the boats. We will be stopping again to experience this restaurant's food and hospitality!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

After hearing a few people sing it's praises, we stopped here on our way home from the beach. Folks, skip the fast food chains and take the time to stop here! The food was really good, and there was a lot of it. In particular, the ribs and fried shrimp really stood out. It's a little ways off the highway, but well worth the extra drive. The atmosphere is very casual, barsy, beachy, and it's right on the river, so some people seem to boat in during the evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Atlanta_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Big Shrimp!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We started with an appetizer of oyster casino. You can't go wrong with cheese and bacon. However, the oyster were of mixed size with most being on the small size. I had the fried shrimp platter. The shrimp were big and lightly battered and not over cooked. I doctored up the cocktail sauce with extra horseradish and they were delicious. My wife had a pound of the spicy peel and eat shrimp. They were also very big and cooked just right. Our waitress was very attentive and pleasant. We would go back again when in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rga48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipper's Fish Camp also viewed

Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Darien, Georgia Coast
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Skipper's Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing