We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find on the river”

Skipper's Fish Camp
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Darien
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Monroe, Georgia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find on the river”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Easy ride up from St. Simons and worth the trip. They are known for their flounder - scallops and oysters also cooked to perfection. Casual but nice atmosphere - family friendly. It's a must stop for us when traveling to the Georgia Coast. Easy stop off of interstate or up 17.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    718
    301
    81
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“returning to S. C. from Florida vacation. Wow!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had blundered onto Skipper's in Dec. 2008 returning from a meeting in Sea Island. Put it into our cell phone for next trip in that area. This time, we were driving I-95 north home from Florida. From exit 49 off of I-95, it is a short & easy hop to Skipper's which is at the north-western base, Darien side, of the Highway #17 bridge in the small town of Darien (you can't see it from the street). We will never pass this place without that short detour for a meal. My wife and I shared the fried whole (bone in) flounder...outstanding!!! I had the crab stew, and it was just the right watery & faintly creamy soup texture (and added a little salt to get the taste "just right". Wonderful!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poptopEBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Skipper's Fish Camp”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I enjoyed spending time with friends, just sitting at the bar and having dinner together at Skipper's Fish Camp. It is an expensive restaurant, but I would go again if I'm ever in that area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank hapkido7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Exceptionally fresh seafood”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Loved the menu variety and the casual or more formal dining options. Delicious fresh shrimp, scallops and mahi mahi.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding seafood”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Real Southern seafood served by friendly folks. Love it when driving through the area. Fish is lightly breaded but not overly so and is extremely fresh.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAFOinWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipper's Fish Camp also viewed

Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Skipper's Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing