We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous! Next door property affiliated with B&B was beautiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Heron Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darien
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Darien B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Tampa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fabulous! Next door property affiliated with B&B was beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at The Marsh House, the next door property affiliated with the B&B, and had breakfast each day at the B&B. The Marsh House was amazing in every way--the attention to detail in the design and decorating was phenomenal. The wraparound porch with rocking chairs, benches, tables, bars etc. was cool, comfortable and relaxing no matter what time of day or where the sun was shining at that time of day. Private tour of Sapelo Island arranged by the B&B for us was enjoyable, as were the lunch and dinner locations recommended by the inn. We'll be back and recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy than the B&B, stay next door at The Marsh House. 3 bedroom, 2 bath, fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshhen1, Manager at Blue Heron Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
So glad you enjoyed the Marsh House please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    22
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
175
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Savannah Room at the Blue Heron Inn and were made to feel at home by Jan and Bill. They arranged a private tour on Sapelo Island which was great and offered other suggestions for things to do and places to eat in the area. The view of the marsh from our porch was fantastic. The breakfasts were tasty and filling, especially the sweet potato pancakes. We would definitely stay here again but probably in one of the bigger rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gorddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here once we asked for the aircon to be turned off, (it was very noisy especially when you're not used to it). Jan and Bill were great hosts really helpful, welcoming and made us feel very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, and our room was lovely, we were upgraded to The Blue Heron room, it was huge with a great bathroom. The setting is idyllic and would love to come back and see more of this part of the coast and paddle the river outside the Inn

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Warm and welcoming people, beautiful location, comfortable and pleasant rooms- highly recommend for a much-needed getaway! We didn't want to leave when it was time to check out. Hopefully we will have excuses to go back and visit soon. Don't miss the sweet potato pancakes at breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsland, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

What an amazing place. Great people, great food. The show from Girls on Trapeze over at the Marsh Studio was just so awesome.
The Blue Heron Room was beyond our expectations. With the soft and luxurious King size bed. Jetted tube to wash away any stresses that you brought with you. Breathe taking views over the marsh. Do you remember the days when you were a kid and you could actually see the stars in the dark night, well at the Blue Heron Inn that’s what you get standing on the deck at night and all you see is the stars.
Breakfast of champions cooked by Bill in the morning. Wonderful, beautiful, amazing yard to walk around and see the plants and trees or just watch the birds and look for the little crabs all around. Sit out on the dock and enjoy the evening. Tree swing to float in the air watching the wind blow across the marsh. If you look close enough you can see boats going to and from Sapelo Island. Just minutes from fresh Georgia caught shrimp and crabs at many of the nearby restaurants.
A must visit and stay for a while Bed and Breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Blue Heron Inn was a beautiful welcoming place to stay. You could not ask for more gracious hosts than Jan and Bill. Our room,as most did,had it's own private balcony were you could sit outside and view the waterway marsh. The Breakfasts were gourmet and a delicious start to your day! The beds were very comfortable;soft linens and pillows for a good night's rest. Their pets are precious too. We really loved staying here and I hope we get to go back soon. I would most definitely recommend The Blue Heron Inn.

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked to be very nice depending on how large you wanted. We had the Shell Seekers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had an wonderful stay at the Blue Herron Inn. This was our first time at a bed and breakfast and it was such a great experience. Bill and Jan were great host. The breakfast was very tasty. It was such a nice and relaxing place, so quiet and I really enjoyed just sitting on the swing and enjoying the great view and watching the birds. I really enjoyed looking at all the great flower and fruit plants all around the house.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purpletink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien
6.9 mi away
Days Inn Darien
Days Inn Darien
#2 of 5 in Darien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Darien-I-95
22.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brunswick
22.8 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
7.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 5 in Darien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Property: Blue Heron Inn
Address: 1346 Blue Heron Ln SE, Darien, GA 31305-5438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Darien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Sapelo Island,Blue Heron Inn, a Georgia coast bed and breakfast, This water front property is ideal for bird watchers and nature lovers. The inn is about a mile and a half from the Sapelo Ferry Dock, eight miles from exit 58 on Interstate 95 and eight miles from Darien (exit 49). Guest rooms open to breath taking, panoramic views of marsh, estuaries and Georgia's barrier islands leading to the inter-coastal waterway and Sapelo Island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing