We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Darien Waterfront Inn
Nearby Hotels
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Darien)(Great Value!)
$54
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
$42
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Darien)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Brunswick(Brunswick)
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Brunswick)
$58
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Brunswick)
$64
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
140
42
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
42
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine barback porchshrimp boatssweet potato pancakeslarge porchoverlooking the riverwalking distanceseafood restaurantrocking chairssea glassdifferent themeskipper's fish campparking lotwater fronthistoric towngreat bed and breakfasttreasures room
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 192 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We visited the Darien Water Front Inn for our 1 yr anniversary as a dating couple. The Inn was as pictured, and the rooms were as described. The Inn Keeper was very sweet, and made us feel right at home. Only draw back for this property - the walls are thin, so we did hear our neighbor snoring, and we needed to be aware of our own noise levels as well. We visited several local places for dining and loved the atmosphere of the Inn. Bathroom was spacious, but for some reason had a tiny tub, and could have used a bit of updating. We stayed two nights in the Tara, and enjoyed our stay. We would return, and would like to try another room since each one has a 'theme'.

Room Tip: Email the inn keeper if you have room questions. Rooms are as pictured, but not all things listed in the descriptions.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We decided to cut our trip in half and stay at the Darien Inn again. They did not disappoint at all! The room was very clean and the AC was ice cold which was a good thing since it was late August early September and still hot ! On our last stay we had some rambunctious kids next door that made our stay lively and due to that Joann had offered us another stay. Given that this was last year that this happened we were not too sure if she would honor that but to our surprise and delight she remembered us and gave us a free night ! We are very impressed with Joann's Inn and her professionalism. We plan to make this our go to place when we make our drive from Florida to NC. We also loved the french toast breakfast ! We really enjoy sitting out on the back porch and listening to the peace and quite in the evening with a glass of wine and in the morning with our coffee. Definitely takes the stress off of a 10 hours drive.

Room Tip: Skippers fish camp is just behind the Inn so dinner is in walking distance. Also room #1 is really nice with many windows but is right next to the road. I like the windows so this is my favorite room so far.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Darien Waterfront is no doubt quirky. A renovated warehouse that fronts a parking lot of a local fish camp but affods views of the river in the deep south with a yankee inn keeper can only be described as quirky. The accomodations are nice, but not quite polished; for example the bathroom sported trim that was primed but not painted and not all the walls were flush. Jo Ann did a good job of being available but not too much in your space. The access to fun shopping and fresh seafood dining that this Inn offers are the greatest selling points.

Our bed was not the most comfortable with a partially flattened foam pad doing more damage than benefit. Breakfast was nice but simple. We had a livingsocial that included use of the house kayaks and that was a nice addition.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Darien Waterfront Inn is set on a hill overlooking the Darien river and the shrimp boats tied up there. Peaceful and delightful accomodations in very relaxing atmosphere. Great restaurant just a short walk.

Room Tip: Any room would be fine.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEMELIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarienWaterfrontInn, Owner at Darien Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for your review. Love the title "Wonderful View"! That's exactly what drew me to Darien, GA. I love sharing it with my wonderful guests. JoAnn Viera, owner, Darien Waterfront Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a neat inn located in the historic town of Darien. The inn is located adjacent to a river providing nice views from the expansive porch. A freshly cooked hot meal got the days started off on a very positive note. The inn keepers, Jo Ann and Kelly, were nice and friendly but not overbearing. The location of the inn is very convenient to shops and restaurants. By using their bikes you won't need the car during your stay. Bring your bug spray as the mosquitoes are on the prowl throughout the town.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two end units being they have extra windows. The other rooms seem like they would be quite dark during the day.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kpf1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews