We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment in Darien”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darien
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Darien Waterfront Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Darien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2012

At the outset let me say many of the positive comments made by others are accurate although our breakfast was not hot. The Inn has many nice features. Unfortunately it also has a problem, at least with unit #5. This unit is long with two double beds. It seems to be on the other side of two separate smaller rooms. The wall is quite thin, and as a result we could hear everything in those rooms throughout the night.I am not going to comment on the details further. All I can say is that as a light sleeper I did not have good night's rest and this was unfortunate because i had to drive several hundred miles the next day.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the end of the building. But, if you are light sleeper I'd advise trying anot...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wabanrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarienWaterfrontInn, Owner at Darien Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. I'm very sorry to hear that you did not have a restful night with us. Within the past few months we made many improvements with sound-proofing our goal. We eliminated doors between the rooms and insulated the walls. We have a unique space here and have worked very hard to make it a comfortable place for our guests to enjoy. We are very proud of our Inn and are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
JoAnn Viera, Owner Darien Waterfront Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Darien Waterfront Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 164 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

We loved the Waterfront Inn. Darien was a new destination for us. We planned to do some kayaking and Joanne graciously allowed us to use hers so we didn't have to transport ours all the way from home in North Georgia. She also was helpful with finding a guide for us for some of the lesser known waterways. Joanne suggested several close by sites to see during our free time and all were interesting. The Inn itself is charming, clean, quiet and located close to the water and several nice local restaurants and shops. The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. Plenty of room. We enjoyed lunch from the Olive Affair on the deck outside our room with a nice view of the river. The breakfasts were yummy! Joanne's Strawberry Bread is fantastic! We would go back to Darien just for more of it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Machelle1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We made a return visit to The Watherfront Inn and it was as enjoyable as before. Joanne and Kelly make you feel so at home in their B&B. She has done a lot to improve the inn in the last year and we had a great return visit. We loved the king size bed with the classic linens and the large bathroom. Her delicious hot breakfasts were a great start to our day and it was a treat to sit on the porch and have a cocktail each afternoon as we enjoyed the river views and the other guests. She also introduced us to a wonderful restaurant in walking distance of the inn called the Darien River House. Chef and owner Eric Lynch provided a wonderful end to a great day. His restaurant features delicious beef and seafood dishes in a charming old Georgia home. Our stay in Darien, Georgia was one of the highlights of our trip south and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We just spent the weekend at the Waterfront Inn for a quick getaway. The owner Joanne could not have been more helpful in both responding to my requests prior to arrival, then provided us with a variety of ideas and suggestions once we arrived. The Inn is a work in progress with continous upgrades being made, and more planned. We were in the Magnolia room which we enjoyed as it was at the end of the building with access to the back porch and interior hallway, and the outside wall had two big picture windows. Both mornings we had great breakfasts which included homemade fresh baked bread and quiches, as well as a variety of cereals, fruit salad. Our only regret is that it was a cold weekend and we were not able to sit outside on the huge back deck and enjoy the beautiful river views, but we could still view the river from the comfy chairs in our room sitting by the back door to our room !

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dogcabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We enjoyed staying at the Darien Waterfront Inn. We could walk to the shops and restaurants nearby and we mean nearby---not the usual "within walking distance" touted by some advertising. Our king sized bed was wonderful.
The room was decorated to the theme of "Gone With the Wind". The bathroom was large and very clean. It needs some hand rails for senior citizens, however. Joanne, owner and hostess, was accommodating in every way. She loaned us her golf cart to use when we visited family staying nearby---a big hit with the grandchildren, and she shared her recipes for the banana bread she served. All said, we would stay there again. Thanks Joann! Linda & Ralph

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good although those on the end might avoid a noiisy breakfast hour. It wa...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Our two night stay, a real treat.The location and accomdations were picture perfect. JoAnn, the hostess/owner was incredibly friendly and accomdating and made us feel right at home. Each morning breakfast was hot and delicious with homemade banana and strawberry breads. Fresh fruits, lots of coffee and hot teas were just a few of the offerings. The views from the deck, just outside our door of the historical Darien River were spectacular. A few steps to the waterfront walkways, we wallked along the river. It was relaxing and peaceful, we talked to a local fishermen as he pulled his line out of the water. We sat on the deck watching the shrimping and fishing boats return after their day out on the river, this gave us a real life view of a fishing village, just as it must have been a hundred years ago. This view was amazing, we will go back just to experience this again. The local people, shops and restaurants were friendly and welcoming. We recommend that you experience this slow pace, relaxing, wonderful haven as we did at the Darien Waterfront Inn, so convenient off
I-95 and on Hwy 17. We were traveling between NC and FL. A great half way point. Wish I had taken my camera.
JoAnn, congradulations to you, you have a wonderful B&B.
We wish you continued success!
Joyce & Bobby

Room Tip: Our room, lots of southern charm, #7 end room with extra windows.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greattravelers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Darien GA was midway in our trip to Chapel Hill NC and in an area that had some intriguing points of interest. We were not disappointed. The inn is up the hill from the Darien River and a great seafood restaurant - Skipper's Fish Camp - and within walking or driving distance of several interesting historical sites (Tabby ruins, Hofwyl-Broadfield Plantation, Fort King George). All the rooms have back doors that open onto a wide porch, which in warmer weather would be a great retreat and vantage point for watching the sunset over the river. Our room was Tara, a good-sized room decorated with a lot of bric-a-brac and photographs from Gone with the Wind. The room and bed were comfortable and well appointed with a sampling of homemade cookies and a pitcher of fresh filtered water. The bathroom was large and had nice towels. We were disappointed in the breakfast - it was okay but not the special treat other reviews led us to expect. But Joanne and her guests made it a socially pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KristenFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Darien-I-95
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Darien
Days Inn Darien
#2 of 5 in Darien
622 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 5 in Darien
163 reviews
16.4 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
590 reviews
14.2 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darien Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darien Waterfront Inn

Address: 201 Broad St, Darien, GA 31305-8805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Darien
Price Range: $95 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are not your ordinary inn. Sitting at the end of historic Broad Street, we are situated in a 75-year-old warehouse that boast a riverfront porch spanning our establishment from end-to-end. A few feet from the Darien Development Authority boat docks, you can launch your kayak or take a rest on your journey up-or-down the Intracoastal Waterway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Darien Waterfront Hotel Darien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing