We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darien
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Darien Waterfront Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Darien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2011

I called the Inn on our way from Cape Cod to Florida, with a friend, and although the room with the 2 beds was taken, JoAnn offered to put a twin bed (not a cot) in the only available room. We were overwhelmed by the friendliness and hospitality extended to us on our brief visit! The Inn is a fresh change from more formal lodgings, certainly a fun, relaxing and homey atmosphere. I liked it so much, I brought my husband back at the end of the month. We again had a great time (stayed in the same room), met a lot of nice people and are looking at a house to buy there! This unique Inn and friendly, historic town are the hidden gems of coastal Georgia.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Darien Waterfront Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 164 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed three days and thoroughly enjoyed the gracious, unobtrusive service, delicious breakfast, comfortable room, and lovely porch. The location allows easy access to wonderful birding and natural settings of the Altamaha Waterfowl Management Area, Harris Neck NWR, Blackbeard NWR, canoeing or kayaking on the Darien and Altamaha Rivers and more. It is an easy drive to St. Simons or Jekyll Islands, and Darien is a nice small town with very good dining within a block or three. Our hosts took us by boat to Blackbeard and organized the day around our visit. For us it was just right, and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RM_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

The room was clean and comfortable. The host was professional and friendly. She actually made us sandwiches for an outdoor outing which was not included in the reservation. This facility was our second choice but will be our first in the future.

Room Tip: Reserve early
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We stayed at the Darien Waterfront Inn in the early part of March 2011. We had a great time as the location was right in the center of the town and we could walk to dinner at night or walk around the town. The rooms all have a deck off the back with a great view of the nearby bridge. Room was very clean and Joann, the owner, couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.

Location was ideal for taking the ferry to Sapelo Island which was really interesting and beautiful.

Would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarSeaLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Wether you cruiser down the ICW or driving on I-95 or US17, spend a few days at Joann's Darien Waterfront Inn. Nestled under moss covered live oak trees in this quiet, historical town, you will find the town very peaceful and charming. Walk down the steps to the riverside resturant for great food. You will also find a boat ramp and dock so you can have lunch on the waterfront. Nearby and walking distance, there's a parking lot for your boat trailer. Also, a small marina, with no fuel dock, however, close by, you will find fuel at another marina. Contact the Chamber of Commerce for details on overnite slips.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nelsurvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We were there for two nights and had a wonderful time relaxing and enjoying the warm hospitality at the inn....Joanne is delightful and makes your stay perfect. The large porch overlooking the river is so inviting with chairs and plants to make you want to sit and enjoy some quiet time...We took a shrimp boat trip which was most enjoyable and a perfect addition to our stay in Darien.....Dinner at the Purple Pickle was delicious and we would recommend both the boat trip and the restaurant ....This little quaint inn is a must see as you travel south, a welcome change from those large hotels off I 95

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

The Darien Waterfront Inn was the perfect spot. JoAnn and family were incredible hosts. The inn is located on the top of a hill just above the Darien River and across the parking lot from Skippers, a great local seafood place. There are several bars and restaurants within walking distance. JoAnn seemed to know everybody, including our outfitter, Danny (we were in Darien for a canoeing trip and Altamaha Coastal Tours was our canoe rental place - also great). The rooms are clean, bathrooms updated, and JoAnn provided us with a great breakfast before we hit the water. We'd stay there again, for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ybs012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Darien-I-95
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Darien
Days Inn Darien
#2 of 5 in Darien
622 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 5 in Darien
163 reviews
16.4 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
590 reviews
14.2 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darien Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darien Waterfront Inn

Address: 201 Broad St, Darien, GA 31305-8805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Darien
Price Range: $95 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are not your ordinary inn. Sitting at the end of historic Broad Street, we are situated in a 75-year-old warehouse that boast a riverfront porch spanning our establishment from end-to-end. A few feet from the Darien Development Authority boat docks, you can launch your kayak or take a rest on your journey up-or-down the Intracoastal Waterway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Darien Waterfront Hotel Darien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing