We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recreation of an old fort with a depressing story” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort King George Historic Site

Fort King George Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Darien
Certificate of Excellence
Taylorsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Recreation of an old fort with a depressing story”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have to admit I had never heard of Fort King George despite having really enjoyed Georgia History in the Atlanta schools, but on the way through Darien, there it is, so we stopped in. It's worth the small price to get in, (and trust me, they need the money.) Looks like maybe they got a grant in the 70s; the facilities are not great, and the lady behind the desk seemed bored and unhelpful. But the story is very interesting, the site is beautiful, and the fort reproduction is really good. I got some neat pictures. You can imagine dying of disease and boredom like those poor invalid soldiers did. For old forts, I like Savannah's Fort Jackson or Charleston's Fort Moultrie. The best one is in San Juan PR. But this is a local point of interest, and is worth seeing if you're in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    75
    18
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Georgia
Level Contributor
426 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great Historical Recreation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

While not original, it is a great recreation of the old fort. There is a nature trail that you can take through the woods and along the marsh, and the remains of the lumber mill are pretty interesting as well.

As a Friend of Georgia State Parks, I didn't have to pay for parking or the museum fees either. The annual membership covers everything.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank advocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top notch Georgia historic site convenient to I-95”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Don't miss this historic site if your traveling on I-95 in Georgia. It has a good museum and the staff is knowledgeable and eager to discuss the history of the site. The most impressive part of the site is the historical reproductions of the fort and living quarters of the colonial soldiers. Students, children and colonial history lovers are sure to leave with a deeper understanding of the settlements of early colonial Georgia.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JSLittlefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“History buffs will enjoy and small enough to entertain anyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across this site about 40 miles south of Savannah. What a gem! Nice film, small but interesting display and the reconstructed site is very well done. There's a nature walk and ruins of 100- year old saw mills. You can spend 40 or 90 enjoyable minutes here depending on your level of history buff-ness. (Too bad the lady at the desk jabbered on with a friend about lunch and dinner plans while paying visitors waited in line for her to attend to customers. Certainly reinforced my view of government employees.)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rpmc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison, NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice restoration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

A recreated fort based on old drawings of the area. Includes a nature trail along the marsh. An interesting glimpse of life in a fort.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dee-you08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort King George Historic Site also viewed

 
Darien, Georgia Coast
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Fort King George Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing