We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History remade”

Fort King George Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Darien
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“History remade”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

An excellent reconstruction of an early military settlement in Georgia. You really get a feel for the lives of the soldiers in the fort at the edge of empire and a full explanation of the historical background to the reasons for the location and the events of the period.
Visiting places such as this 50 years after studying the growth empire via books at school is a great experience.
Also my wife found it interesting...........a great recommendation!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bryanll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    82
    18
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best historical site ever”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Today June 1st is the day Fort King George has a living history event. This fort is one of the best examples of early settlements along the Fl Ga border. The fort was put here to stop the Spanish from entering Ga. It was maned by Scottish highlanders, the first people to settle the new town of New Inverness, which is now Darien. The fort and grounds are reconstructed and in the same image from early blueprints. There is a museum and old mill ruins on the property. On June 15th the town of Darien is celebrating the burning of Darien by the 54th Mass. Which will be another milestone in the history of Darien. If your in the area this little town is a must see.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tajm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent reconstruction”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This visit will give you a clear idea of living conditions for soldiers in the 18th and early 19th centuries in places where defensive positions and accomodation had to be quickly thrown up using just timber and earth, The reconstruction follows the original survey plans (obtained from Britain by the way) and is to scale. We saw only adults there, but it is clearly a great place for children with stairs and ladders to climb in the central blockhouse.
It's a visit that can be made in an hour or so, but for those with time there is a nature trail and the real walkers can do a 4 mile circuit. We saw an alligator in the creek that serves as one defensive side of the fort (over which flies my British flag by the way, i was a British fortification helping the locals keep the Spanish away. .
A tip. A visit here gets ou a dollar off entry t nearby Hofwyl-Broadfield and vice-versa. Both full entries are 7 dollars and worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Check out this Fort”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Enjoyed checking out this area. Talk about what would have been a tight-knit community.
I must say I cracked up walking up to the fort area and seeing the sign to make sure you leave the alligators alone. I said...DUH!!!
Walking through the main fort, I had to wonder just how short some of them would have been because I had to duck quite a bit and I'm almost 5'6".
Definitely make sure you put on some bug spray because the bugs will attack you especially if you go down to the bluff area. But head to the area to see all of the little crabs

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DestinyStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss while in town”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The history of the Fort was fascinating. There is a video presentation that you must see to appreciate the fort. Too bad that the fort was a recreation. Well worth the price of admission. Make sure you bring bug spray or you can purcahse some on site.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort King George Historic Site also viewed

 
Darien, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Fort King George Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing