We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not be staying at this SUPER 8 Again”
Review of Super 8 Darien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Darien
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Darien
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will not be staying at this SUPER 8 Again”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Our car needed repaired so we stayed here. The air conditioning only worked a little and the commode would not flush properly and the worst was going around the building and seeing the NASTY GREEN POOL. If you don't want the upkeep then do not have it. Very disgusting to say the least. Oh and tried to make polite conversation with the night time clerk was like pulling teeth!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank black_bear_hunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nildip88, Manager at Super 8 Darien, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for selecting Super 8, Darien Georgia for your stay. We are sorry for the trouble you had during your stay with us. I will make sure that your next visit will be comfortable and enjoyable, and if not, please let us know while you are still at the hotel, rather than waiting until you leave, so we can make things right..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    32
    45
    32
    27
See reviews for
53
63
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Crawford, Ga.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2009

I am a charter bus driver. I had a group to go out on one of the islands around Darien.
Called around and found Super 8 to suit my needs while they were there for two days. they had a lot large enough for my bus. There were enough places to eat within walking
distencethat I didn't have to move the bus at all. There is even a shopping center across the street if you wont to shop. The manager was very kind and helpful. It is just right for someone that just wonts to relax while waiting.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crawford_Ga_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2009

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.The continental breakfast was great and the staff was very helpful with giving directions, and other helpful information.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smith083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nildip88, Manager at Super 8 Darien, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
thanks for staying with us.hope to see you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2008

As per the last review.. Front desk staff was very slow .. not very pleasant...2ND...the room was awful..... smelled bad... not very clean and the scary thing is was very blatant...... crumbs & trash under the edges of the bed...Dirty coffee pot.... hair & cobwebs in the bathroom JUST NASTY....the smell was so bad I had to bring my air freshener from my auto........ THERE ARE 2 OTHER PLACES NEARBY.... THATS WHERE WE'LL GO NEXT TIME

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank valbo1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darien hotels

North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

I realize this is a cheap interstate hotel, but I have stayed in Super
8's before that were much more clean. The furniture was sticky. When I moved the bed over against the wall to keep my toddler from rolling out, there was a dirty washcloth wadded up against the wall along with
other debris left behind (candy wrappers, etc..) The carpet was so dirty it turned our socks black. I expect a certain amount of disappointment from cheap places, but the next night we stayed in an Econo Lodge that was less expensive and much nicer. I would say if you're looking for a cheap roadside stop, go to the next exit if you can.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewseliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 16, 2004

We needed a rest/sleep spot on our driving trip from PA to FL and chose this motel in Darien. We had planned to stop here and booked it ahead of time.

It's a typical Super 8 Motel.

Front desk receptionist wasn't exactly friendly. Very short with us... basically took our money, handed us the keys and sent us on our way.

Room was fairly clean, although smoke detector battery was dying and beeping when we arrived in our room... the maintenance staff (of one person) was quick to come and replace the battery though.

The shower drain clogged up after my husband and I showered the next morning and was filled with about 6 inches of water. The bathroom wasn't exactly clean... had some cobwebs in corners.

There were other motels nearby (Days Inn, Hampton) and we'll probably end up spending an extra 30 dollars and staying at one of those the next time.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Darien
Days Inn Darien
#5 of 5 in Darien
612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Darien
Comfort Inn Darien
#2 of 5 in Darien
159 reviews
11.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#13 of 36 in Brunswick
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Darien-I-95
11.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North
13.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Brunswick I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Darien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Darien

Property: Super 8 Darien
Address: 12905 Ga Highway 251, I-95 exit 49, Darien, GA 31305-3642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Darien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Darien 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy Access to I-95 with Truck Parking Book your room at Super 8 Darien hotel, near Jekyll Island, and enjoy a convenient location between Savannah, GA, and Jacksonville, FL, on Interstate 95. Situated in a scenic area known for its beaches and vacation spots, our Darien, GA, hotel makes a great home base for exploring the Georgia seaside. Kick off your day with free 8-item SuperStart breakfast bonanza, then use free high-speed Internet to check the weather reports or look up directions before you head out. We offer free parking for your car, bus, truck or RV and outdoor electrical outlets for your convenience. Kids 17 and under stay free at our pet-friendly hotel and weekly and seasonal rates are available. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS There is so much to see and do near our Darien, GA, hotel. At Jekyll Island, you can lay out on beautiful beaches, tee off at the largest public golf course in Georgia, visit sea turtles or cool off at Summer Waves Water Park. More opportunities for beach-going, golfing and entertainment are available at nearby St. Simmons Island, which is also home to the historic Sapelo Island Lighthouse. Paddle your way down the Altamaha River Beach and Kayak Trail or visit the Fort King George Historical Sight, just four miles from our Darian, GA, hotel. You can see incredible wildlife, including egrets and herons, at Harris Neck National Wildlife Refuge, or stop over at the Smallest Church in America. Savannah, Georgia, and Jacksonville, Florida, are both easy day trips thanks to our convenient location on I-95. DINING OPTIONS Smokey Joe's BBQ offers ribs, pulled pork and more right up the street from our hotel in Darien, GA. If you like seafood, head to Skipper's Fish Camp for fried and broiled seafood or a plate of oysters on the half shell. Grab a steak at B & J's Steak & Seafood or a cup of coffee and a sandwich at Java Joe's Bistro. Kickin Chicken is a great spot for Southern favorites like fried chicken and collard greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Darien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darien Super Eight
Darien Super 8
Super Eight Darien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing