We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access from I-95, good stay for the money”
Review of Comfort Inn Darien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn Darien
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Darien
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Easy access from I-95, good stay for the money”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you're looking for 5 star quality, you're probably not looking at this chain to begin with, not to mention going to Darien, Georgia. That written, this motel fared better than I had expected.

Be forewarned - if you're expecting to enjoy a leisurely complimentary breakfast, this motel has 66 rooms and 4 tables. It's across from an outlet mall, and bargain hunters flock to complimentary breakfasts. We didn't bother with the breakfast, choosing the McDonald's not too far away. There are other choices as well.

The front desk staff is VERY friendly. While I was a little put off to find the front desk clerk outside, sitting on a luggage cart and smoking, she was very friendly, got up right away, and found my reservation and had us checked in quickly. You have to ask for a second key if you need two. The night person was also very friendly. They'll make change for the soda machine for you. THUMBS UP - a 20 oz Coke product only cost $1.50 here!!

The luggage carts were small but serviceable. Actually, considering the cost, I was surprised to find luggage carts at all. You get the free WiFi password at check-in. There's a little lounge off the tiny lobby with a TV and chairs. It was playing Leave It To Beaver when we checked in.

Room - It passed the bug inspection. The mattress pad was stained, but the mattress was in good repair. The sheets appeared clean - no hairs or stains. The room was clean to the eye - I didn't run my finger over the pictures or anything to check for deeper cleanliness.

The sink is outside the toilet/bath area. It was badly cracked and poorly mended, but it worked and didn't seem to leak. The carpet has seen better days.

Walking around the room, I discovered that the carpet around the HVAC unit was soaking wet, which helped explain the musty odor in the room. This room had a common problem - the window curtain is too long and gets caught by the air from the HVAC. This forces the air downward, which I suspect leads to condensation on the carpet. It also causes any dirt or mold trapped in the curtain to circulate throughout the room, as well as making the HVAC unit inefficient at heating or cooling. I folded the luggage rack and propped it on the HVAC, trapping the curtain and freeing the airflow.

Furniture is old and scratched, but there's an in-room safe and a nice flatscreen TV, as well as complimentary coffee service.

The most striking thing about the room is the number of lamps. It looks like it was updated to move from wall sconces to table lamps, but the wall sconces are still there! In all there were 8 lamps, but only 4 or 5 worked.

The bathroom was mostly clean. There was dust and dirt buildup in the corners, but the toilet and tub were visibly clean. I don't do a Melchiorre and run toilet paper under the rim. Towels are standard budget motel issue, and had no visible hairs or stains on them.

If you want a nice, clean, friendly place to sleep and shower, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Ice machine on first floor is REALLY loud. Try to stay in the middle of the hall to avoid it and an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel34373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    52
    33
    23
    11
See reviews for
63
51
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

well the title says alot...very very small eating area... 4 small close tables. I stayed for a few days, so the first day it was so crowded and no where to even move to prepare your pate, so i went the second day at 8:35 and was 4 day old danish , no coffee, no sausage, no bread. The young lady that was maintaining the food bar was so sorry about the lack of food, but she said she had to follow the rules. I checked with the front desk and the young lady was also very sorry and i was given the customer service number. i saw five other families also meet the same fate. and as i was leaving to go to my room passed many more patrons. so take the fact that you are NOT really going to have a hot breakfast until 9. Ok so back to the other interesting items....i check in out of 6 lamps in the room only 2 had light bulbs. once again the young girl at the front desk was very apologetic and tried to remedy by taking light bulbs from other rooms... Stephanie was an incredibly professional person. If it had not been for Stephanie i would have left on the first night. Seems strange there were no light bulbs in stock for the hotel. this is a drive by hotel...as in just stopping for an was full at night. and a line for breakfast...did i mention how much the whole breakfast thing was a real fiasco. sunday morning tight schedule and now i have to go out and spend another 10 dollars a person for a decent breakfast. the room was clean, towels are past ready to be replaced but they will give you more. My coffee pot is on its last leg the lid is broken . Shower rode is coming out of the wall. Easy to find off 95. but i would keep going if i had to pay cash. I use reward points for this as i am a diamond platinum member . i have stayed in many hotels on the comfort in chain with rewards program. We always use comfort suits and others in the group for business travels. the last several years.are averaging 3 nights a week. The front desk person, Stephanie, went above and beyond for excellent response to many questions about the area and eating establishment. she is the only reason i chose to stay for my whole trip. thank you for being here trip advisor!!!! unfortunately comfort inn customer service lines are not available on weekends...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Driving north without a reservation on a busy weekend not a good idea but Comfort Inn saved us from sleeping in the car or having to continue driving. They are conveniently located rith off I 95 in Darien Georgia. The room was clean, and more importantly the bed was very comfortable. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. Bonus they also serve a breakfast buffet in the morning with a waffle maker!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great place to stop right off highway. Close to fast food and 2-3 miles from excellent local seafood place. Right near shopping outlets. We were traveling home from FL was a perfect stop for us. Staff was friendly and courteous.

Traveling with 1 year old. Floors clean enough for her to run around on. Our tub needed good scrub and needed a new plug, would not hold water for long. Cobwebs on walls and in corners. Linens on bed clean and newer. Bedspread older and stained but clean. Bed was comfortable. Fan in room worked. Fridge and microwave in room newer. Flatscreen TV on dresser. Hot breakfast standard... they did not replenish eggs and sausage when they ran out with 1/2 hour left. Plenty of other guests there.

Overall not the best Comfort Inn we've stayed at but far from the worst and we travel A LOT. Good value for money. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NH45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

not that it was disgusting but it is a old property that is getting close to needing a good remodel
the price was right and with the first few exits we stopped at were booked we were glad to get a room.the staff were very friendly and even suggested a more scenic route to drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelbyslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I were returning home to Florida from a visit with relatives in Virginia and needed a place in between so we wouldn't have to drive non-stop. We checked on line two days before our scheduled stop and found the Comfort Inn in Darien, GA. I called the phone number to make sure they would take pets and talked to a man named Chuck. Chuck was very friendly and he was able to book a room for the day we needed. We checked into a large, clean room on the first floor. This was probably the quietest hotel we ever stayed at. We heard no noises from upstairs, the adjacent rooms, or the hallway and we were very close to the back door. Even the bed was firm and comfortable. There was a nice buffet breakfast with hot and cold food. Every one of the staff we met during our visit was hospitable and helpful. They loved our little dog. If we get a chance to stop in Darien again we will choose the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stopped at this Comfort Inn while traveling I95 with four kids and a dog. The staff was extremely, friendly, helpful and accomodating, providing adjoining rooms on the first floor and near the exit (for walking the dog). The rooms showed some age but were clean and comfortable. The free breakfast included the usual selection of cereal, breakfast breads and make-it-yourself waffles - more than adequate. And the price was right. Check in and check out was a breeze. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Darien
Days Inn Darien
#3 of 5 in Darien
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Darien-I-95
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Darien
Super 8 Darien
#5 of 5 in Darien
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brunswick
13.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick
11.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Darien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Darien

Property: Comfort Inn Darien
Address: 12924 Ga Highway 251, Darien, GA 31305-3641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Darien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Darien 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Darien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darien Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing