We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern Comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Darien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn Darien
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Darien
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Southern Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I were returning home to Florida from a visit with relatives in Virginia and needed a place in between so we wouldn't have to drive non-stop. We checked on line two days before our scheduled stop and found the Comfort Inn in Darien, GA. I called the phone number to make sure they would take pets and talked to a man named Chuck. Chuck was very friendly and he was able to book a room for the day we needed. We checked into a large, clean room on the first floor. This was probably the quietest hotel we ever stayed at. We heard no noises from upstairs, the adjacent rooms, or the hallway and we were very close to the back door. Even the bed was firm and comfortable. There was a nice buffet breakfast with hot and cold food. Every one of the staff we met during our visit was hospitable and helpful. They loved our little dog. If we get a chance to stop in Darien again we will choose the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    50
    32
    23
    10
See reviews for
61
49
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stopped at this Comfort Inn while traveling I95 with four kids and a dog. The staff was extremely, friendly, helpful and accomodating, providing adjoining rooms on the first floor and near the exit (for walking the dog). The rooms showed some age but were clean and comfortable. The free breakfast included the usual selection of cereal, breakfast breads and make-it-yourself waffles - more than adequate. And the price was right. Check in and check out was a breeze. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, GA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at the Comfort Inn for a night in preparation to board the ferry for Sapelo Island the next morning. The inn provided comfortable and clean accommodations. The check in and check out processes were very easy. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, too. The evening desk clerk was able to recommend a restaurant and she was right on with what we wanted for a meal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C-02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is unfortunately one of about three off exit 49 in Darien. Since I must travel here for business, I have few options. One might THINK to stay at the Hampton simply because of the brand reputation, but I dread coming here.
The hotel is very old and needs renovation. The breakfast area is "under beautification" currently, but this should have been the last place they started. The carpets, as mentioned by other folks, is disgusting thoughout the common areas and guest rooms. The sinks are at about mid-thigh level, making it very uncomfortable. I wear my flip flops in the shower because the tub has a black ring arounf the bottom. No microwaves here. Really? I couldn't care less about free cookies, I would just expect outstanding service from a low traffic hotel. Not the case here. The desk clerk, who I have seen several times, is not concerned about providing customer service. In fact, every time we come in, he is in the breakfast area watching tv or on a laptop. He made my reservation for other team members a nightmare, knowing full well that I am a diamond member. I don't get it. The rates are at or near those of Hampton Inn's across the south. But this hotel is not worth half the price. Reading the reviews of the other two hotels here, it doesn't look like things are much better elsewhere. If you're stopping for the night, it will serve the purpose. If you stay here for business, Hampton needs to get it together both from a quality perspective and guest service. Good luck.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank df999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darien hotels

Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Do yourself a favor.....do not stop in Darien......we stopped when we were on our way to Florida off of I-95. The place was run down.....old......needed to be updated.........this place if a very depressed area........the breakfast room has 4 tables for the entire place.......we had to wait to eat.........I have to say it was clean.....but that is alll it has going for it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Desk clerk and manager were friendly and professional. The room was perfectly clean and comfortable. There was a small fridge and microwave and a large flat-screen TV. There is a room safe, but a charge for using it. I would recommend this hotel if you need a place to stay that is convenient to I-95 and Sapelo Island. The breakfast was good. There was no fitness center although the hotel does have a seasonal outdoor pool.

Room Tip: Quiet location.. All rooms should be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneBlueDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Darien was a convenient stopping point on a recent trip out of Florida. All we were looking for was a clean, quiet place to spend the night at a reasonable price. This place filled that need adequately.

The facility is older and shows its age, although we found our room to be clean and accommodating. It is not "sparkling" or "fresh", but we noticed no odors or stains in our room. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.

Service was noticeably good. The lady at the counter was both friendly and professional, making us feel welcome and getting us into our room quickly. The manager greeted us at breakfast the next morning, making sure that we were satisfied and well fed.

The continental breakfast was average, though they could clearly use more space to seat more guests.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you are just looking for a quick stopover on I-95.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Darien
Days Inn Darien
#2 of 5 in Darien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Darien-I-95
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Darien
Super 8 Darien
#5 of 5 in Darien
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Inn & Suites
13.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Darien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Darien

Property: Comfort Inn Darien
Address: 12924 Ga Highway 251, Darien, GA 31305-3641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Darien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Darien 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Darien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darien Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing