We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation”
Review of The Purple Pickle - CLOSED

The Purple Pickle
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Established 2009...We are an Eclectic Eatery with Unusual menu items as well as traditional favorites. Soups Salads, sandwiches. wraps and Flatbreads
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“vacation”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

very wonderful place to eat.plan on going back next year while on vacation
we met the owner while on vacation on jekyll island. we enjoyed her company and visited the next day for lunch. the simpsons in pa. wish here and her a very happy holiday season

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    36
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant with a special atmosphere!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a great little eclectic place to eat! Second time to visit the Purple Pickle and we will come here every time we are in this area. The BBLTA (Bacon, Brie, Lettuce, Tomato & Avocado) is to die for. Also very good...the crab cake salad. The owner is a delight and has never met a stranger! Heck...we wanted to move in with her she's so friendly. Staff is great too. What a delightful stop!! Hope it stays around and that the local people support it. It would be a shame for Darien to lose this little jewel.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GiGi-in-GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Fun”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food was very good, the staff very friendly and helpful. Lunch was fun, you must try the purple pickles.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fresh food, casual atmosphere”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was our first visit to the Purple Pig. We are new to the area and decided to explore Darien, GA today. It was their first Saturday fest. The place is very eclectic. Lots of colorful walls, chairs, pictures. You can sit any where you like, inside or out. The menu is on a chalkboard or there are copies too if you need time to decide. You order at the counter and the staff brings your drinks and food to you. There was a good variety of sandwiches, wraps and salads on the menu. I had the BBLT which was bacon, brie, lettuce and tomato. It was very filling, they were not stingy at all. My husband had the Monster which had a variety of meats, lettuce and tomato. The food tasted so fresh as if you made it in your own kitchen. They kept our iced tea glasses full. The owner, Anna, and her husband, Mitch, were on hand to greet us and chat a bit about Darien. The servers are very diligent. They were always busy refilling drinks, clearing tables and checking on everyone. We will definitely go back. I am looking forward to taking some out of town guests too.

They serve breakfast too. It looks tempting. We will try that next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Col515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harris Neck
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh food and delicious”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Right off I-95 in downtown Darien. This establishment serves fresh food in a clean atmosphere. Prices are reasonable and local artists exhibit their work for sale.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue72HarrisNeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Purple Pickle also viewed

 
Darien, Georgia Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing