We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What I Expected”
Review of Old School Diner

Old School Diner
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Darien
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Chef Jerome Brown, has 20 years in the seafood business. Our customers are our family members, we have over 10,000 photos on the walls of our restaurant! The Old School Diner, famous for the "Wheel Chair Platter!" - Come see why Ben Affleck says " Why ask, Trust your Chef" Carpeted parking lot? Yes we have that! A quick trip from Savannah and well worth the trip! A real Hidden Gem of the Southeast, that is a quote from Southern Living Magazine!
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have been here twice only because friends from out of town had read about it and wanted to see it. The best two things that I can say is that it is very different and the food portions are very large. The restaurant is in an old building way out in the boondocks with old pieces of carpet laid on top of the mud for a parking lot covering.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank captphillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill_LewisSavannahGA, Guest Relations Manager at Old School Diner, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

The Old School Diner would like to thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review. We don't advertise, never have! But we do have 5000+ family members that do this for us. We know we can do better next time. Any problems at all just ask for Chef to come see you. Chef Jerome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 149 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

When we pulled up to the restaurant, I was like "oh heck no"! Make sure you view the pictures on-line before going. After you view them, multiply the craziness by 100. But don't be fooled by the outside, go inside for the best food and experience of your life! Chef Jerome and his staff makes you feel like family. This is a must see and a must do! Don't ride past exit 67 off I-95, without stopping by. If this place was in Savannah, it would be on the list of the top 5 tourist attractions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gatormarie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill_LewisSavannahGA, Guest Relations Manager at Old School Diner, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

The Old School Diner would like to thank you for the oh so kind words in your recent Trip Advisor review. We don't advertise, never have! But we do have 5000+ family members that do this for us. Welcome to the Old School Diner family. We look forward to your return visit sometime soon. Chef Jerome and his family of the Old School Diner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Old School Diner is quite simply a can't miss experience! The best description we read was that when you drive up it looks like something out of a bad "B" movie but don't let that stop you! Once you find your way in you are greeted by friendly staff and some of the best down home Southern food eating. My wife and I found it by accident as we were going birding nearby at Harris Neck Wildlife Refuge (also recommended if you are into birding) and it was the only place around to eat. We are snowbirds passing through but from now on we will plan our trip to include a stop to eat at Old School. Chef Jerome is one of a kind and he came out and gave us hugs and a tour of the restaurant. The platters are large and we didn't have refrigeration for seafood leftovers so Chef Jerome split our dinner onto separate plates with generous portions for no extra charge. We had all seafood and everything was prepared perfectly. I would love to go there someday with enough people to get the Wheelchair platter and just "Trust the Chef" as the menu says! No matter how full you think you are GET THE CHEESECAKE for dessert!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill_LewisSavannahGA, Guest Relations Manager at Old School Diner, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

The Old School Diner would like to thank you for the oh so kind words in your recent Trip Advisor review. We don't advertise, never have! But we do have 5000+ family members that do this for us. Welcome to the Old School Diner family. We look forward to your return visit sometime soon. Chef Jerome and his family of the Old School Diner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Had a great dinner with friends - Chef Jerome give you a big hug when you walk in the door and truely greets you like family. We got there early and yes, it does smell like cleaning products and an old house in the low country, but hey - that's what this is all about! This man can work a fryer and the ribs were tasty - BBQ sauce was obviously home-made and spicy! Great ribs - we had the wheel chair platter and the fried oysters were top 5% of thos I have had. Fried shrip were also good - I was less impressed with the fried fish but I hear the whole fried flounder is excellent. We arrived at 5:30 and left at 9:30 and were never rushed. Chef even brought us a great piece of lime cheescake to try. It ws excellent! Great place to meet up with friends!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ivy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have been to Old School Diner multiple times since its a good halfway point between us in Savannah and some friends in the St. Marys area. We meet up, hang around for a while and get treated like family from the Chef and the wait staff. The seafood is really good and the experience is fantastic. However, the hidden gem of the Old School diner is Chef Jerome's Cheesecake. We have had two different types but his key lime pie cheesecake from Saturday night was amazing. So thats my new advice....save room for cheesecake.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eatdrinkandleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill_LewisSavannahGA, Guest Relations Manager at Old School Diner, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

The Old School Diner would like to thank you for the oh so kind words in your recent Trip Advisor review. We don't advertise, never have! But we do have 5000+ family members that do this for us. Welcome to the Old School Diner family. We look forward to your return visit sometime soon. Chef Jerome and his family of the Old School Diner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old School Diner also viewed

 
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Old School Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing