We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY RELAXING”
Review of Open Gates B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Open Gates B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Darien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edgewater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“VERY RELAXING”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We loved staying here. Breakfast was good and the people are very nice and helpful. We stayed in the room detached from the house. Next time we will stay in the house in the Isand Room down stairs. It is lovely. We are at tne Darien River House which is a 5 minute walk. I felt like I was back in the days. I loved it. We went bike riding too. It was fun.Pool was great too.

Room Tip: Up stairs rooms are nice. I would stay there or in the down stairs room, The Island room...lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KATHALEENA6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    20
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
28
106
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We really loved this place - exactly what you want in a B&B. The owners were sweet, breakfast was great, bed was comfy and I loved the cool, refreshing pool waiting after a day trekking through Harris Neck refuge. We will definitely be back as it is a great location from which to explore the islands and refuges in the area. Highly recommend Indigo Coastal Shanty in Brunswick and Pams #1 near the B&B for food and great atmosphere/friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLbaqtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Open Gates Bed and Breakfast and celebrated her birthday weekend in Darien. The weekend that we planned to stay was during the Blessing of the Fleet. We decided on staying here after visiting Darien in the Fall. Open Gates B&B had several rooms to choose from but we wanted to stay in the upper carriage house room which was secluded from the main home with it's own private entrance. This Bed and Breakfast also has an inground pool. Our hosts Jeff and Kelly were great as well as the other couples staying there as well. We enjoyed our homemade breakfast in the mornings and look forward to returning soon. A highly recommended place to stay!!

Room Tip: Carriage house room is secluded and private from main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, MA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Open Gates in March. Nice location on a pretty square within walking distance to a couple of good restaurants. Jeff was a gracious host - and the breakfasts were yummy. There are a lots of books and games in the library - and a private back yard. We particularly enjoyed breakfast with the other guests and were able to get ideas about sightseeing in the area. We'd stay there again. The rooms in the main house have all been updated. The Garden Room where we stayed was a bit more rustic - but very private. We'd stay there again!

Room Tip: There is a church in the square with bells that ring on the hour up until 10 p.m. If that's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADWestfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just fabulous! Perfect location on the square in Darien surrounded by hundred year old live oak trees dripping with Spanish Moss. We've stayed in Darien before because it is convenient to I95 but far enough off the interstate for a night of restful tranquility. We hadn't seen this inn because it isn't on a main street and are grateful we found it on TA because it was such a nice experience. Stayed in the Island Room which was really gorgeous. Big beautiful king sized bed in an oasis of turquoise board and batten walls. The inn is within walking distance of a couple of very nice restaurants which is definitely a plus. Darien is low key and unpretentious, a lovely, sleepy little southern town. This is an excellent inn, good value for money, very friendly innkeepers and wonderful breakfast. We will definitely visit again and next time stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salt Water Diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholls, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I are staying here as I type. We have stayed in both the Garden Room and the Island Room. This place is amazing! The staff and other guests have been top notch and the rooms are amazing. You are walking disance from some quality eats and some great photo opps such as waterfowl managment areas, shrimp boats galore and several old churches and other buildings. A short drive to Ft, King George and Howfyl Plantation to boot! One of the best stays I have experienced, we will be coming back!

Room Tip: From what I can tell, the island room seems to be the largest, 2 beds and a full bath. Garden room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garanger1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have been staying in the Garden Room in October and enjoyed our first stay during our US vacation very much. Open Gates is very weel located between Savannah and the Golden Isles and that was why we have chosen this location as our base for some days. It is walking distance to a number of restaurants, so one can leave the car behind and walk along the river for a stroll.

Kelly seems to be a jack-of-all trades; always on the "go". But she and Jeff are present with advice and directions without watching every step you take. Actually, they do not live themselves at the property, so everything from kitchen to the livingrooms is left to the guests.

The good soul of the house is a lady from down the road (Stevie?), who also helps out in the Waterfront restaurant down the road. Always a different breakfast selection each day and lots of helpful advice.

The Garden Room itself (a former poker room!) was clean, quite spacious alsthough the high bed is taking for us Europeans some getting used to. Becaause of the distance from the main house, the Wifi signal was pretty weak, much better at the outside from the veranda.

The church next door was having some serious evening services while we where there. And with "Praise the Lord" the jet-lagged Europeans were put to sleep...

We would certainly return if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cityeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Darien-I-95
16.4 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
512 reviews
14.2 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
724 reviews
13.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
116 reviews
21.4 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Gates B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Gates B&B

Property: Open Gates B&B
Address: 301 Franklin St, Historic Vernon Square, Darien, GA 31305-9068
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Darien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Open Gates B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open Gates Bed and Breakfast, built in 1876 by a wealthy timber baron, is uniquely situated for nature-lovers, history buffs, birders, boaters, and outdoor enthusiasts wanting to experience one of the richest natural ecosystems in the world. We are a family run, nature-based business located in the small coastal village of Darien, Georgia. Located on historic Vernon Square, just one block from the shrimp boats on the Darien waterfront, Open Gates is surrounded by giant live oak and magnolia trees providing a private, relaxed atmosphere for your vacation getaway retreat, business trip or special event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Open Gates B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing