We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open Gates B&B
Nearby Hotels
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Darien)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Darien)
$69
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Brunswick(Brunswick)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Brunswick)
$62
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Brunswick)
$71
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
168
21
2
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
168
21
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrepesgarden roombed and breakfastbluebird roomeggs benedictold housefront porchwithin walking distancehouse is beautifulgreat chefdelicious breakfastfort king georgeneat placegreat linenssleepy townoutstanding foodowner chef
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 194 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a trip for our 29th anniversary in September 2012, where we visited both Cumberland and Sapelo Islands during our 3 night stay. We stayed in the Blue Bird room, which was very nice and comfortable. Jeff and Kelly were great hosts. It was like staying with friends, but you didn't feel like you were imposing at all. Joy was most accommodating with our breakfasts, and went well above the "call of duty" to make sure we had a delicious breakfast even on the morning we had to leave very early for Cumberland. Darien is a beautiful, quiet town, and a great place to visit. We would highly recommend Open Gate for a stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckhead83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We looked forward to our stay at Open Gates, but very disappointed in the condition of the room (Garden Room in the Carriage House) and lack of cleanliness. When trying to find an outlet for the laptop, I was shocked to see the filth behind the bedside table and headboard - very thick dust/dirt, even covering the wires - clearly had not been cleaned in a long time. The bathroom was in need of updating to the point that it felt dirty, rather than historic. We were charged extra for a toddler even though he slept with us and did not have breakfast. Although the website states they have free WiFi, it did not work in the Garden Room, nor did our cell phones (Verizon usually access everywhere). I was told to go outside - where one would get eaten alive by mosquitoes (not the fault of the Inn, but have never encountered so many mosquitoes..just trying to get into the car, it was filled with the things).
The one positive is that the bed was very comfortable.
I am sorry to leave a bad review - we do not usually review an Inn or Hotel unless we can give it 4 or 5 stars and I considered it carefully before writing this one, but this was so disappointing that potential guests should be warned.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredNana08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpenGates, Owner at Open Gates B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

We appreciate your review and your honesty. We have worked hard to address these issues and hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Again, thank you for your critique and feedback. Best wishes on your future travels. Kelly Spratt, owner, Open Gates B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We drove up in front of this adorable house with welcoming lights in all the windows & Jeff was inside waiting for us. When we were ready he helped us unload our luggage from the car. As it was around 3PM, we were looking for an afternoon snack. Jeff informed us about the "cookie lady" across the street, So we went out seeking cookies. There was no sign. We just knocked on the door & inquired, "Is this were we get the cookies?" I felt like a neighborhood child, how fun! Then we headed back across the street & had our cookies on the front porch, yet more fun. Then we had some time in the pool, the fun never stops! Jeff helped us with directions for dinner. We slept very well in the comfy beds & in the morning we were served delicious waffles with fresh fruit & bacon on the side. Before we left in the morning Jeff gave us some advice for our travels which turned out to be most valuable. We can't recommend The Open Gates B&B enough!

Room Tip: We poked around upstairs & our room downstairs, "The Island Room", was the biggest.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gee2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My wife and I stay in a B and B at least 12 times a year. Open Gates is one of the best we have stayed in. The host, Kelly, was a pleasure to deal with. Our room was clean, the mattress very good. Kelly prepared an excellent FULL breakfast. We stayed in the Blue Room. We both have nothing to suggest to make this a better B and B. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms share a bath. The Islander Room looks like the best room in the B and B.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed in the downstairs Garden room. Large and very nice. The hosts are very accommodating. There were two other couples there but when we reserved a week before they were empty so we had our choice of rooms. We stayed based on a Southern Living article recommendation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews