We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best B and Bs”
Review of Open Gates B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Open Gates B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Darien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the Best B and Bs”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My wife and I stay in a B and B at least 12 times a year. Open Gates is one of the best we have stayed in. The host, Kelly, was a pleasure to deal with. Our room was clean, the mattress very good. Kelly prepared an excellent FULL breakfast. We stayed in the Blue Room. We both have nothing to suggest to make this a better B and B. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms share a bath. The Islander Room looks like the best room in the B and B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    20
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
27
106
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed in the downstairs Garden room. Large and very nice. The hosts are very accommodating. There were two other couples there but when we reserved a week before they were empty so we had our choice of rooms. We stayed based on a Southern Living article recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The house is charming. We were there for two days. It was very quiet. We had the bluebird room. It had a private bathroom which had a small shower but was adequate. There was a larger shower in the hallway which we could share. The hosts do not live on site they live down the block which is different than other bed and breakfasts. They open the house up and you are free to roam it as you please. They booked us a tour of sapelo island and it was wonderful You should definitely do that if you can. We went to fort king george site very close by. Jekyll Island is near by and Savannah is about an hour away. We walked around Darien and everyone was so nice and kind. This is a great place to just chill out and relax.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iowaloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Open Gates is a lovely historical home that sits next to the largest square in Darien. It's a wonderful victorian home with large rooms. There are a few updates that are needed such as paint-normal wear. You can't be shy or impatient if you are sharing a bathroom upstairs with another room. Take a robe for sure if you are sharing! The owners are super nice and very flexible with large groups. Breakfast is wonderful!!! The pool could use a few chaise lounges and a trash can. Overall, the property is a great location for access to all the attractions in and around Darien.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverDwn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOCA RATON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The room was large and inviting. There was no one else staying there while we were visiting so we virtually had the house to ourselves. The area was loverly and quaint.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJPCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
179 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I went to Darien for a quite weekend away and chose Open Gates B&B for our place to stay. We've stayed in a lot of B&Bs and this one rates as one of the top on the list. Jeff and Kelly have created a wonderful haven in the historic area of Darien. We had the downstairs room right next to the dining room and library. The room was beautifully decorated and very large with a big high bed, a single bed and a sofa for relaxing. The library had books and games and best of all a carafe of wine available at all times for guests. There was pound cake in the dining room at all times and although I usually don't indulge once I tasted that one it was all I could do not to eat a large portion. The parlor was a great place to relax with the comfy antique sofas and chairs and there were rocking chairs and a swing on the front porch.
Breakfast was fantastic although it would have been nice to have a choice instead of a set menu. That being said my favorite breakfast was the local fresh eggs that had the best flavor of any I've had in years. My husband's favorite was the home made waffles we had on the second morning.
Jeff and Kelly were perfect hosts. They were very friendly, made sure we had everything we wanted and were available by phone any time we needed them which was not at all! There was not one thing we wanted for.
If you want a nice quite time away I'd definitely suggest staying at Open Gates

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyPenny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

There is much to like about this bed and breakfast. It is located in the heart of town next to a small park (Vernon Square) and has a gorgeous library and a large salt water pool. Jeff, the host is personable and attentive and serves a delicious breakfast.
The Island Room and its private bath are roomy and the bed is quite comfortable, however it opens into the dining room and is adjacent to the library.
Darien is a quiet town with good restaurants-a perfect stopover while traveling I-95.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnysolei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Darien
Comfort Inn Darien
#2 of 5 in Darien
159 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Darien
Days Inn Darien
#3 of 5 in Darien
603 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Darien-I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
507 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
587 reviews
11.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Gates B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Gates B&B

Property: Open Gates B&B
Address: 301 Franklin St, Historic Vernon Square, Darien, GA 31305-9068
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Darien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Open Gates B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open Gates Bed and Breakfast, built in 1876 by a wealthy timber baron, is uniquely situated for nature-lovers, history buffs, birders, boaters, and outdoor enthusiasts wanting to experience one of the richest natural ecosystems in the world. We are a family run, nature-based business located in the small coastal village of Darien, Georgia. Located on historic Vernon Square, just one block from the shrimp boats on the Darien waterfront, Open Gates is surrounded by giant live oak and magnolia trees providing a private, relaxed atmosphere for your vacation getaway retreat, business trip or special event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Open Gates B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing