We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dalton Depot”

The Dalton Depot & Trackside Tavern
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Dalton Depot”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

If you like trains, then this is the place to go. As you sit enjoying dinner, you feel, then hear, then see the freight trains (and maybe passenger, if they go thru here) go by just a few yards away. This is the old Train station of Dalton, Georgia, the same train station that Sherman used during the Civil War as a hospital, and did not destroy to the ground. - There is also a Model Train that runs around the inside above your heads and tables. - The food was good, a variety of choices (steaks, pastas, seafoods); the Dalton CofC and Vistors bureau recommended this to use as one of the best in the Dalton area. Remember this is the Carpet Capital, not a restaurant capital.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    37
    18
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
482 reviews
415 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Didn't Live up to its Lofty Ranking”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Recent health score 90.
Our lunch experience here was disappointing despite the many positive reviews.
The old railroad depot is beautifully restored and decorated, reflecting Dalton's historical connection to railroading.
They have a limited lunch menu, mostly sports bar type foods. Although the place wasn't crowded, the service was slow and the server seemed confused. My wife ordered a salad with a hot dressing on the side, but it came out with cold dressing mixed in. My cheeseburger was nothing special.
It's possible we would have had a better experience if we had come for dinner. However, based on our meal, I can't recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoswellDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Does not honor groupons”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

any restaurant that signs on to groupons and cuts their portion in half to make up the difference, well - now you know.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank legalincancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“place amazing food average”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The place was very different and unique but the food had nothing to rave about!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“We enjoyed dining at the Dalton Depot.”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

It is always a treat to find an excellent local restaurant when we are traveling. We overnighted at a motel adjacent to I75 and found the Dalton Depot using the internet. It lived up to its strong ratings. My wife had the 6 oz petit filet and it was superb beef cooked excellently. She had some doubts when she ordered it because it comes as two 3 oz cuts and she wasn't convinced that such small pieces could be prepared medium rare without compromising the surface by either leaving it too light or too seared. It was perfect. I had the grilled seafood platter which includes a filet of grouper, shrimp and snow crab legs over rice. it was also very good, although the crab legs could have been meatier. We both had the mixed vegetable side and the veggies were fresh and nicely prepared. I had the house salad as my second side and my wife had the baked potato. Both were good. The server was cheerful and attentive and the atomosphere is delightful. In my opinion the prices are reasonable. The filet dinner was $17 and the seafood platter was $18 and the portions were quite ample. There is also full bar service and a lively sports bar is located in a room separate from the main dining room for those who are looking for a casual drink or two. The presence of the bar does not create any disturbance to the dining expereince in the main dining area and I wouldn't have noticed it if I hadn't gone to find the rest toom. The location is a bit away from the interstate motel cluster but it is worth the extra 2 miles to avoid eating at one of the chains such as Chillis.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ml W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dalton Depot & Trackside Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing