We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern yummy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Filling Station

The Filling Station
Ranked #6 of 179 Restaurants in Dalton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Southern yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I've been to the restaurant several times. Have to visit regularly to satisfy my fried chicken craving! The food is all buffet style-don't let that put you off if you aren't a buffet person. I typically dislike buffets. Best fried chicken ever, hands down. Hot, crispy and perfectly seasoned. There are other dishes to eat too, including some healthier choices like salads and fruit. Drink is included along with desserts. Mmm, heaven is standing at the cooler picking out your dessert. Choose carefully, you only get one. There are all sorts of pies, cakes, etc. just like Mama used to make. The charming interior is a converted gas station with antique signs on a rustic brick wall and an adjoining sunroom. It's a tad bit off the interstate tucked away at the end of the older downtown area but well worth the detour. Best 10 bucks you ever spent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frteacher57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    16
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Southern Cooking!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I love good southern cooking & this buffet is a good deal for the price! I also appreciate that there is not meat in all the dishes! The food tastes like good home cooking. Desserts are included with meal & quite yummy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank happygapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best in class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The filling station takes the exhausted all you can eat southern buffet and breathes new life into the concept elevating it to the levels the other places only dream of achieving. The concept is simple. Fix southern dishes like green beans, squash casserole, sweet potato casserole from scratch every day, keep them hot, and replenish as needed. It isn't fancy food, it just absolutely perfect comfort food. Everything is good, really good, like Sunday dinner at the Grandma's you wished you had. Most of the recipes come from "grandma" the young owner's grandma who is as sweet as she is savvy. There isn't anything fancy, fried chicken appears every day along with normal accompaniments but everything is fresh, hot, clean and delicious. There is usually some fish on friday and turkey and dressing on Sunday. The dessert are wonderful.

The restaurant is inside an old gas station, thus the name and the pun, but don't let the casual sound fool you. The establishment is spotless and the tables are adorned with white linen table cloths and fresh flowers giving it a bistro edge. Expect a wait if you go at lunch and possibly a long wait if you go after church. Don't go for dinner because it isn't open, but if you travel or live in Dalton, you need to go at least once.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank geogiasun12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wish my homtown had a place like this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I travel to Dalton, to visit with flooring companies. One of my clients asked if I liked buffets, which I am not a big fan of, but said, it would be fine to go to one. Wow! What a neat place in the middle of town, set up in an old gas station. Every time I have been there it is packed. What is fascinating is that they serve the same menu every day and it is still packed. Fried chicken, beans, mac and cheese, creamed corn, green beans, etc., and it is just country style dinner to die for. (I come from a big city and just love it.) Best part is dessert. Homemade Pecan Pie, apple pie, banana pudding. Some of the best I have had--don't tell my southern born bride that though. Well worth getting off of I-75 and taking a 15 minute drive to it before going north or south. Open for lunch M-S. $10 a person.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wallpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun, GA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simple food...simply good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Filling Station in Dalton, Georgia is simple home cooking with lots of choices. What makes it interesting is that it is $10 per person. This includes everything from drink to dessert. It's just good eatin' as my late great daddy would say. It's worth a visit or six.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Southernlady047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Filling Station also viewed

 

Been to The Filling Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing