We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorably impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Dalton
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Dalton
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Favorably impressed”
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Had never stayed at a Jameson Inn before. All exterior access rooms. The room seemed very "homey" and had a nice setup with the sink basin in the room and the toilet/tub door set at an angle. King room furnished with a "chair and a half."

HVAC unit was fairly noisy.

Breakfast did feature make your own waffles and hot gravy. Sadly, the presentation was nil, and there were no eggs/bacon/fresh cut fruit like you might find at other places. Still, a pleasant place to overnight on I-75.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JA78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    149
    68
    27
    15
See reviews for
148
105
46
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

We were very happy to find a Clean off the highway on a road trip. (I was not aware of the fact that dogs were allowed lol) The hotel was well lite up and we felt extremely safe. The building itself was in tip top shape fresh paint pretty flowers and obviously maintaining this property is a high priority. It was a pleasure to stay here. Thank You for the good nights rest.

  • Liked — Very Clean
  • Disliked — They turn off the air in all the rooms and it takes awhile to cool down.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relaxed34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, TN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2008

After trying nearly every other hotel at this exit and finding none that would accept dogs I was told to try Jameson, they did. I have had two previous rather bad experiences with this chain in the past and entered almost with dread. Lobby very clean, desk attendant quite pleasant and helpful. It was getting late and both my mutt and I were tired and looking to call it a day so I took the room. She gave me a ground floor room near the end of the building where I found a rather nice dog area. Well mowed and maintained and plenty of room. (They would do well to add a pole with waste disposal bags handy however to help keep it clean) The room was nicely decorated, very clean and well stocked. The bed, a king, was heavenly! Extremely comfortable. Several pillows, all of the same density though so if you like semi soft ones, great, if you prefer a firmer pillow there were none to be found. There was a small but adequate desk and a very comfortable recliner. One problem common to many hotels was a lack of electrical outlets and those that were there were as usual it seems behind furniture and already fully in use. No readily accesible outlet near the recliner or desk for my laptop. Although very near the intersate and on a very busy crossroad it was quiet and nothing disturbed me in the night. I did not have a chance to enjoy breakfast but it appears they have an excellent one with many cooked to order items, included in the room charge. Overall I was happily pleased and most pleasantly surprised by my overnight here. They have a new manager i was told and she is a stickler for clean. It showed!

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — lack of electrical outlets in the room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Iamdustoffmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

My family and I stayed in the Jameson Inn in Dalton, Ga coming and going from our Christmas Vacation. It is a very acceptable hotel that is "Pet Friendly" with nice rooms. The price was affordable. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Pet Friendly, Affordable, Great Staff and pretty good breakfast.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mtled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, OH
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2006

We stayed here in Janaury of 05. It was an OK hotel. The room was pretty clean. Not spotless, but acceptable. The big advantage to this hotel was the absolutely great breakfast. All Jameson's have a good breakfast and this one was no exception. Nothing quite like chocolate chips on a belgian waffle in the morning followed up with biscuits and gravy. If it were not for the breakfast, it would be just average. The breakfast puts it above average in my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durango4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2004

Absolutely terrible. A roach motel. Not clean and terrible customer service.

Helpful?
1 Thank BillVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfreemon, District Manager at Howard Johnson Dalton, responded to this review, February 19, 2008
I understand your issues with our hotel in Dalton, GA back in 2004. We have made great strides to not only improve the condition of our rooms but customer service as well.

Since you have stayed with us we have changed General Managers and renovated the entire hotel. We have new "Dreamium" beds which is a wonderful pillow top mattress.

I hope you will give us an opportunity to provide you with a wonderful stay at our hotel in Dalton, GA. We would welcome the opportunity to show you our new hotel.

Pam Freemon
District Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalton hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dalton
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dalton
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Dalton
Hampton Inn Dalton
#6 of 22 in Dalton
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dalton
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Dalton
Quality Inn Dalton
#11 of 22 in Dalton
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dalton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Dalton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Dalton

Property: Howard Johnson Dalton
Address: 790 College Dr, Dalton, GA 30720-3782 (Formerly Jameson Inn Dalton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Dalton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Dalton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Dalton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Dalton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jameson Inn Dalton Hotel Dalton
Dalton Jameson Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing