We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, quiet rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Dalton
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Dalton
Certificate of Excellence
madison, wi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, clean, quiet rooms.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Outdoor entrance, small rooms, but updated nicely with working fridge, iron, microwave and coffee maker. Good breakfast with waffles, cereal, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, pastries, fresh fruit and two kinds of juice. The one employee we met seemed nice, but not all that geared toward customer service.

Great value for the money, wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    145
    66
    27
    15
See reviews for
144
103
44
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Checked in this hotel for one night. Every time we went to the front desk we had to wait about 10 minutes for someone to come because they were all out smoking. The beds were horrible, they were the hardest most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept on. I took a shower. It drained so slow that by the time I was done the standing water was half way to my knee. We had to switch to another room in the middle of the night because none of us could sleep. The shower was a little better but the beds were about the same. I would never stay in a Howard Johnson again.

Room Tip: Choose your room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

On a recent road trip, I needed to find a dog-friendly hotel somewhere in south Tennessee/north Georgia. Considering I have two medium to large sized dogs (one is about 35 pounds, and the other 55 pound), this wasn't an easy task. After narrowing down my options and reading the reviews, this Howard Johnson seemed like the safest bet. I would say that I made a good choice! Check-in went smoothly, and the room was very clean! Yes, there was some wear and tear to the room. The chair in the corner was a bit threadbare, and the carpet had several stains (as I would expect to find anywhere dogs are coming and going). However, you could tell that everything was well-maintained. I could walk across the floor in my socks, and they didn't pick up any dirt on the way across the room. There was no dust, no cobwebs, and no mold in the shower. The bed was large and comfy, and I loved that the heating/AC worked like a traditional thermostat (pick your desired temperature, and the system maintains that temperature), rather than the outdated heating systems you find in some hotels rooms. All of the employees that I interacted with were super friendly, and I found the breakfast to be sufficient. There were all the basics (cereal, waffles, juice, etc), and everything was well-stocked. The hotel was also very convenient to the interstate, and to a number of restaurants and fast-food places.

There were only two downsides with my trip. First, there is only one grassy area on the entire property, over near the pool. This meant that I had to walk over behind the landscaping in order to take my dogs to the bathroom. It was a bit inconvenient, and not clearly marked. There also weren't any bags available to clean up after my dogs, which would have been a nice addition. The other problem I had was that my room was right near the main lobby. While this was nice in theory, my dogs got really stressed out around 6:30am when the other guests started moving around outside of our room on their way to breakfast and checkout. I understand that there are only a limited number of pet rooms at the hotel, but it would be nice if they were located in a less busy area.

All in all, though, I was very happy, and I'll definitely be stopping here again if I have the chance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Looks like this location is now a Howard Johnson and I'm not impressed. I have stayed here a number of times over the years and while the beds and TV have been refreshed, the rest of the place looks like it hasn't seen any maintenance in the last 20 years. The continental breakfast has less than at anytime before and the place was around 20% occupancy so you wonder what everyone else knows that you don't.

I'm sorry to see it slide into disrepair and I for one will be looking for a better place on my next trip down I-75.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here after finding the LaQuinta and Comfort Inn were full. Nice property with comfortable bed. 37" flat screen tv and fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in room. Pretty good breakfast in the morning but would like to have had hard boiled eggs available.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckd1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I don't typically like motels with doors to the outside but I Hotwired this room for $60 and you don't really know what you've got until you've booked. But - the lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. I called to make sure I got a nonsmoking king and she did that plus ground floor. The room was nice - but a tad small. The bed comfortable - great chair - good in room coffee (French vanilla flavor) microwave and fridge and jets in the tub. Overall very pleased.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slsrls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalton hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dalton
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dalton
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Dalton
Hampton Inn Dalton
#5 of 22 in Dalton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dalton
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dalton
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Dalton/Convention Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Dalton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Dalton

Property: Howard Johnson Dalton
Address: 790 College Dr, Dalton, GA 30720-3782 (Formerly Jameson Inn Dalton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Dalton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Dalton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Dalton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Dalton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jameson Inn Dalton Hotel Dalton
Dalton Jameson Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing