We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fighting a Battle Here?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pickett's Mill Battlefield

Pickett's Mill Battlefield
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Dallas
Attraction details
Boardman, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fighting a Battle Here?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Decent sized state Civil War battle park. Visitor center is ok... the film is adequate and exhibits are informative. Some are pretty general. Park itself has several well-marked trails through the woods to locations where fighting happened. I took the Red Loop and it gave me a good look at both the Union and Confederate positions. Be advised- when they say trails can be strenuous and difficult, they mean it. The ground is uneven and hard to navigate at points. This does give a visitor a better appreciation for how hard it would have been to fight a battle in these surroundings. Lots of trench lines can easily be observed. Biggest complaint was signage. It would have been more informative to install signs at key stops in the trail loop rather than give visitors a booklet they have to read at each stop. Overall, worth a stop for anyone with an interest in the Civil War.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank GozerTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyrone, Georgia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful green oasis admist subdivisions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

The grounds are beautiful but to understand what happened, you have to carry a trail guide. I would prefer to see monument type plaques in place instead of having to keep up with paper. I guess they do not want to disturb the land witg monuments, though.
Didn't see the film. Would haver liked to but there was no sign saying when out would start. Ranger really did not offer much info. when he took our money. If I lived close, would may come more often to hike. Don't really see a reason to teturn though.

Helpful?
1 Thank PatriotGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Civil War reenactments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you like Civil War Reenactments, look for the dates of the reenactments. The park is lively and interesting with folks pretending they are living in 1860s.

Helpful?
1 Thank mfortino2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Point, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A piece of history close to home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

As the Union Forces pushed south towards Atlanta, there was a fierce battle at the site known as Picketts Mill. Today is is a peaceful spot in the countryside with an interesting interpretive center and a pleasant walking trail that allows the visitor to get the lay of the land and imagine how the battle must have taken place. It is definitely worth a visit if you are in the area and have any interest in the Civil War.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Conrad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Interesting Historical Site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We have lived in the area for along time and never took the time to visit here. What a shame. We learned so much at the visitors centers displays and from the short film you can view as well. Examples: This was the only night battle, over 1600 Federals and 700 Southerners were lost to the battles. There are several trails that you can take from the visitors center. Some are under construction right now. One path leads to the house used in the film "Get Low". They all wander through the forest area with various terrains. Markings on the paths refer you to the brochure about that specific area. This is a GREAT place to walk around the wilderness and enjoy some history and the outdoors! But I think the state needs some better plaques along the path areas. More like Kennesaw Mountain.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RaceAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickett's Mill Battlefield also viewed

 

Been to Pickett's Mill Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing