We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place to eat Mexican food”
Review of Los Magueys

Los Magueys
Ranked #1 of 71 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Dallas (near Atlanta), GA
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“My favorite place to eat Mexican food”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

In our little area of Dallas/New Hope/Crossroads, we have several options for Mexican food. The most consistent, excellent experience is Los Magueys (we lovingly mispronounce it as "Mah Gooeys" in our house). Magueys has a pretty standard menu for Atlanta Mexican with a few special dishes and dips thrown in that are worth trying. There is inside and outside seating including a covered outdoor area with a bar. When weather permits (even rain), I highly recommend the outside seating. The service is usually quite good and the servers are all friendly. They do have a tendency to get very busy from time to time, so you should definitely not try to walk in at peak dinner hour on a Friday/Saturday and expect immediate seating. I have also found (as with many restaurants) that both the food and the service are better if we plan our meal at a slightly off hour. Nothing about Magueys is going to knock your socks off, it's just a great place to have a good Mexican meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    31
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Georgia
2 reviews
“BEST PLACE IN DALLAS”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is our favorite spot. Delish fresh Mex. Chips, salsa, tacos and platters are awesome! The best drinks and food in town. Try it you won't be disappointed. We go all of the time especially when we have company in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smijose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite place in Dallas!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great food and service! My husband and I go there once a week and never have been disappointed. One of the few places on that side of town with a patio and late night karaoke on Fri and Sat. Lots of specials all week and great drinks. Check it out!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJM1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmoosa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Prices”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Food is was great. Great local place to eat mexican food. Great prices. I love trying new places and was glad to try this place. Will go there for lunch more often when Im in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best In Class!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Simply the local favorite. Great food and a great atmosphere. Get there early or get there late, just get there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Magueys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing