We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management needs to learn about hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Reviewed February 19, 2010

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for four nights while in Dahlonega. The manager seemed inconvienced and irritated by our early arrival. Our room was on the second floor which was in the process of renovation. The drilling and hammering continued from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm. We were not told about the renovation work on the entire floor. After I complained to the manager, we were not offered another room. She just typed up a notice to be left at the front desk stating that the hotel was under renovation and management apologizes for any inconvience.

Dahlonega is a beautiful and friendly town. And there are many B&B's and Inns. Skip this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pbo915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 216 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2010

This hotel has a nice view of the mountains, but that is the only nice quality about it. The hotel room rates were misleading, and unannounced fees were added to our bill when we checked out. Dahlonega is a beautiful and friendly city, but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdunn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed at the Holiday Inn ,Dahlonega this past weekend and were very pleased. It was extremely clean, big rooms and friendly staff. We came in without a reservation and received the "managers special". Lower then any rate posted on the internet. Also, they had a good breakfast which included scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, and hot biscuits. In addition, they had a wide variety of other standard motel breakfast items. We will definitely stay here again. Just let me add,a charming and quaint little town in any season.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmoreMacon_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Reason for my stay was wife having an operation at the Dahlonega Hospital. Had a few nice chats with Diane,the manager and she was very nice. She even helped me get through this tough time. Felt like she was an old friend by the time I went home.Motel was very clean and breakfasr helped. . Could have used a microwave.
K. Healy

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishBlairsville_ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

I am a single parent with son attending NGCSU nearby. First stayed here in Fall 2008, have been here many times afterwards and will continue for the next three years. The first advantage that sold me on this hotel versus the other chains in the area, was the inside corridors. I feel much safer as a single traveller.
As a Priority Club Elite Gold member, my keys are always ready and waiting, I am offered late check-out and as a frequent guest, I always feel welcomed.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable, always clean, and I have on many occasions witnessed the thorough job that the housekeeping staff perform. They have never forgotten to replace any amenities including the laundry bag. Unlike other hotels where I have stayed, they do vacuum every day.
The manager, Mrs. Moore is always present from morning to evening and I have seen her working in the breakfast bar when the hotel is full, attending to guest needs.
The free breakfast bar is impressive as hot food is served - eggs, sausages, bacon, biscuits and gravy, in addition to the usual items. The warm cinnamon danish are not to be missed.
One tip - book your stay early during the peak periods e.g. parents day, gold rush weekend or wedding season. The hotel will be full. I booked one year in advance for this stay.
There is no on-site restaurant, but the hotel is close to everything. Lots of free parking on-site.
Dahlonega is a hidden gem, so much to see and do nearby so worth it to stay somewhere central and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshinegyrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

My sister and I stayed here for a long weekend getaway. The staff was very polite and accommodating. Our first room had a king size bed and my sister wasn't thrilled about sharing a bed with me. They were booked that night so we had to keep our room but the following day they moved all our luggage to a lovely room with a beautiful view of the mountains. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaFunFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Granted, this IS a 2-star hotel, but we have stayed in better 2-star rated hotels! The lady at the front desk wasn't very friendly, our room smelled like cat urine, and we found three bugs in our room. One of which was a spider crawling on us as we were watching TV in bed, the other was dead on the bathroom floor, and the third was a fruit fly. This place is anything but a comfortable stay. We were hoping that with the Holiday Inn name there would be some sort of quality standard, but no luck. It was a disappointing stay and we did not look forward to going back to the hotel for the evening. We couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZachandJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
11.9 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
491 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#5 of 8 in Dahlonega
163 reviews
15.6 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
353 reviews
12.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Dawsonville
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega

Address: 835 S Chestatee St, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range: $135 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dahlonega, home to the first major gold rush in the US. The Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega hotel is a luxurious three-story hotel only one mile from downtown Dahlonega and located in the heart of the Southern Appalachian Mountains with excellent mountain views and rapid access to mountain attractions. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Please note that no roll-away beds are allowed in any of our rooms. Visit Dahlonega, GA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega Hotel Dahlonega
Holiday Inn Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing