We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dahlonega
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Very Nice”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We came up to spend the weekend visiting the area and stayed at this name hotel. The place has not been updated in years. The basics were missing-microwave, refrigerator and clean rooms. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Niki A,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    60
    44
    21
    17
See reviews for
65
50
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Havelock, NC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We found the room to be cleaned and oder free, The room was a little dated, but everything work in the room. Only real issue in the room was a lamp on the desk had a switch going bad. The shower was really good. Real good water pressure for a nice hot shower. The staff was was very pleasant and helpful and really made you feel welcome. The breakfast area was cleaned and well stock. I really like the pancake machine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mice5430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear mice5430,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback about our hotel. We have replaced the switch on the lamp in the room and you will be happy to hear that we will be making changes in decor and furniture in the very near future. I am glad to hear that our staff made you feel at home, as that is our goal. We look forward to having you stay with us during any future visits to Dahlonega.

Doug Pittman
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Hotel was average, clean, neat. However we were not allowed to sit and talk in the lobby after 10:00. They refused to open the conference room so that our group, there for a wedding, could play cards and socialize. Then they complained that our group, which had adjourned to a room, was loud. We were, but just let us sit and play cards in the lobby! For a group rate of over $100/night, we did not get much value for our bucks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Leslie G,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the positive comments. We regret the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dahlonega hotels

Kennesaw
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is in desperate need of updates. The mattress are not the new comfort sleep mattress, they are old and uncomfortable. There is no refrigerators or microwaves in the rooms. Hard to believe HIE without them. The ice machine on the 1st floor didn't work, the side entrance door has not worked in 3 months, which is important because when this hotel is full you have to park on the far end of the building. The same breakfast was served every morning. This hotel charges a premium price for below average rooms. The housekeeping staff was friendly and helpful. And so was the front desk staff. This hotel should be the first and best choice in Dahlonega with the service and comforts you expect from Holiday Inn, but falls short.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morristravels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Morristravels12,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. We can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. We appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The staff was pleasant, the hotel looked clean. They use too much scented carpet powder, it was overwhelming. The bed was hard as a rock, and pillows as lumpy as rice pudding. I woke up with back pain and a stiff neck. Hey, Holiday Inn, please update these rooms. The other irritating this is the spotlights shine right in the window.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Jo C,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the issues you experienced with the bed and pillows. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetumpka, AL
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed here for 2 nights on a "Leaf-Peeper" trip. Although we didn't see much Fall color, the accommodations were terrific! Ms. Moore, the manager greeted us and pleasantly completed our check-in.The family-friendly motel was full to capacity for the Apple Festival weekend and the staff handled everything promptly and with a pleasant disposition. The historic downtown area is nearby with plenty of quaint shops and local eateries. Be sure to visit the Smith House restaurant for a delicious experience in "family-style" home cooking. We also ate @ Caruso's Pizza. Their pizza was tasty, but they were sorely understaffed. It took 45 min. before they bussed a large dirty table. Several people walked in and right back out!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vsh54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed there 10/11/2013 to 10/13/2013. The stay was WONDERFUL. From check-in to
check-out, we could have not been treated any better. All staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was very nice and clean. We are already planning another trip to the North Georgia mountains and will be staying at the HI Express-Dahlonega. This is the best place to stay in Dahlonega. Thanks to the staff for a super time!

Room Tip: Book early. A lot of wedding families stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAdams31513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
11.9 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 9 in Dahlonega
481 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 9 in Dahlonega
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dahlonega
157 reviews
15.6 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
345 reviews
12.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Dawsonville
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega
Address: 835 S Chestatee St, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dahlonega, home to the first major gold rush in the US. The Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega hotel is a luxurious three-story hotel only one mile from downtown Dahlonega and located in the heart of the Southern Appalachian Mountains with excellent mountain views and rapid access to mountain attractions. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Please note that no roll-away beds are allowed in any of our rooms. Visit Dahlonega, GA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega Hotel Dahlonega
Holiday Inn Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing