We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Guest beware! As a priority club member and frequent guest at Holiday inn Expresses across the nation, this is one of the worst experiences I have had, the owner lives on site and parks her Cadillac and BMW in the 2 handicap sits. The room was fairly clean but broken lamp shades, out of date furniture, no accessible plug ins, and only a curtain over the window (no shear).
There was a school group staying there and she placed me in a room right amongst them and wouldn't move me.
I have reported this hotel to intercontinental hotel group, as this is a poor reflection of their hotel line,

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamiandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Tamiandchris,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    60
    44
    20
    17
See reviews for
63
50
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Wife and I stayed there this past weekend 4/26/13-4/28/13 for a car show, the car show was total a mess but turned out ok, while staying there the Manager was not just rude just plan out nasty to us and some of our guest, do not ask for nothing she will go off on you and the cleaning staff can't speak english only to look at you and walk off, told the Manager ( Diane) and she said they don't listen to her only the owner,but the rest of the staff was not much help Ask about the cheap Wal-Mart breakfast she said the onwer will not allow her to spend and dont say nothing she can hear and see you on camera,so deal with it.The manager would not give us any direction as to where to eat only to hand us a guide, said why don't you ask the vistors center since they are the ones who left you people hanging she talked bad about them,. The bathrooms where dirty, floor had hair on it and at the rip off price just pass it and go south on 400 and stay at a Marriott for that price. Never in my life with all the car shows we go have eveer been in a hotel like this, Manager bad mouthing owner for being cheap and talking about the vistors center staff and her own staff, never in my life. Take all that pointing fingers and bad mouthing people energy and change it to cleaning up your hotel, owner to if she right.
For now STAY AWAY from this place dirty rude hotel and it will drag you down also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Tony H,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again.

We were disappointed to read that you had a poor service experience with management, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dahlonega hotels

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were acceptable, clean, hotel was quiet. However there were two parties both of us were priority members and the clerk did not provide us with things normally given to priority club members. Had to go back down and ask for water and then was two bottles for four people. Not a major issue but if you join the club you expect to be given what you were promised, other than that, it was a nice place to stay. On the final note, they are very honest as we left a very expensive Apple charger in the room and They saved it for us!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Tim M,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Rewards member and for leaving us a feedback. It is nice to know that you have noticed the cleanliness of the room. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations o some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Having read previous reviews I was a bit concerned, but we stayed for 3 days and the hotel was clean, good breakfast. Hotel staff was pleasant, but not overly freindly. Great value. I would likey stay there again.

Room Tip: Upper floors provide better view of mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balgat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We only stayed for 2 nights but enjoyed every minute. The hotel was nicely located for our needs, only 5 minutes to the wedding we were attending. Also within walking distance to the town.
The only negative comment was from my two sons when they found that the local McDonald's was closed for refurbishment but I'm pretty sure that the hotel had no influence on that.
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this location for business travel for about three weeks. Diane and her staff was awesome! I would like to also thank the awesome housekeeping crew for doing an exceptional job!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Basic chain hotel which I would have rated higher if not for a few issues. I believe that the hotel is not staffed properly which may explain some of the problems: There were many bags of trash piled up in the stairwell nearest our room throughout the four days we were there. The trash filled the staircase with a bad smell. The entrance door at the back of the hotel, the one nearest our room remained unlocked all weekend. Our room was not serviced at all the first day. we were out of the room from 7 AM until 6 PM and the room was untouched. The next day our room was not serviced until after 5 PM. We returned from a long day and could not use our room. The women's restroom in the lobby was filthy. The hotel ran out of some food items for the breakfast each day. We were never greeted by a memeber of the hotel staff and my wife was treated rudely by one of the housekeepers when she requested towels on the day that our room was not cleaned. There was no business center. There is plenty of parking, a great location, free wifi and everything worked in our room.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms facing the front of the house have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
474 reviews
11.9 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#6 of 8 in Dahlonega
156 reviews
15.6 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
337 reviews
12.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Dawsonville
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega
Address: 835 S Chestatee St, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dahlonega, home to the first major gold rush in the US. The Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega hotel is a luxurious three-story hotel only one mile from downtown Dahlonega and located in the heart of the Southern Appalachian Mountains with excellent mountain views and rapid access to mountain attractions. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Please note that no roll-away beds are allowed in any of our rooms. Visit Dahlonega, GA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega Hotel Dahlonega
Holiday Inn Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing