We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some upkeeping and repair”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here in two bed rooms only for one night on a rewards night (not sure that it should make a difference), but we had a platinum membership. The rooms each had a musty smell to them, not sure if it was because the AC was not on. But even after the AC being on for a while, the room still smelled. We stayed in a king room and it clearly was missing a couch or something because on the far end of the room, it was just a table and two chairs and a big empty space. My wife peeked in one of the other rooms, and they had a sofa sleeper in there room. Not sure if it was because the one in ours was ruined or what.

As a previous reviewer stated, there is no mini fridge or microwave. There was also only one ice machine on site. The breakfast was sub par, and right at 9:30 - it was shut off. I normally don't complain about places I stay and figured this was just a "holiday inn express," but staying in another one in a different smaller town further north (Hiawassee) - it was night and day. We only stayed here because the one in Hiawassee was booked out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear J L,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay at our hotel. Rest assured that all the points you have written down will be looked into. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 223 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express. It was very nice, clean.
The staff was the best.
I want to tell you that the Hotel Manager Diane Moore was great. We wanted for nothing.
She was there when we woke up to when we went to bed.
Her breakfast was great, hot & well planed. The pan cakes maker was also great.
We will be there next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We are in Dahlonega at least once year for a reunion (for the past 6 years now). We love the Holiday Inn there. Diane, the manager, has been and continues to be very helpful, friendly and professional. She has, on more than one occasion, gone 'above and beyond' to help resolve any issue that we or others we know have had (none of which could be attributed to her or her staff).

Oh, and by the way, I've heard her speak to the staff, and I didn't notice any attitude at all. She spoke in her usual soft and calm voice and simply asked questions and gave directions; which is what is expected of a manager.

The rooms are clean and comfortable and the public area is well-kept.

Room Tip: We always as for 3rd floor, mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a wonderful initial stay in Dahlonega in the fall of 2011 and couldn't wait to return this fall. We were greeted again this time with a smile and even an early check-in. Dianne, the manager, went above and beyond to get us in a room as I had waited too long to call to request a room. Good food, a clean room and a happy staff will bring us back again. Must be a great place - it was booked waaaay in advance. Thanks again, Dianne!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room on the side overlooking the college spire! The view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank needyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I go to Dahlonega every week as a consultant to the University, and always stay at the Holiday Inn Express. I have stayed at other properties in Dahlonega, and there is no comparison. The front desk staff is competent, professional and caring. The rooms are very quiet; the beds are comfortable; and the free wi-fi is great!

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have no idea how this place stays in business. The short, plump elderly lady is so nasty to everyone that I am surprised guests still come in this joint! Her service makes it obvious from the get go that they are over charging because she is rude to the guests and act like we inconvenience her every time we ask a question, she doesn't speak or smile unless she knows you, and she talks to her employees like they're vermin beneath her. Speaking of vermin, I heard her mention to one of her employees about a rodent problem they were having, which is disgusting and I am wondering if the health department knows about it. I may in fact give them a call myself. At the rate they charge for rooms, they should be able to afford a mini fridge and microwave for each room, which they do not have. The breakfast was horrible and tasted stale as if it were not fresh at all. Stay away from this hotel unless you want to get ripped off by a miserable, depressed old hag who has no respect for the people who pay her salary or the people who work under her.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

As a HI Platinum member I stay at HI Express every week. Therefore I was really at a loss as to why the Troll who runs this location was such a train wreck. Like the man in front of me checking in said, "it is like watching paint dry". She trashes out her employees and tells everyone her hotel problems. The ONLY HI Express with no bacon or sausage, the Troll says gravy over biscuts is a meat product. They ran out of breakfast early and had no fruit or newspapers on Saturda morning. Fire alarms with bad batteries, phones not working, toilets stopping up, desks and lamps simply missing in rooms. She has no concept that we are paying customers and she is overhead. When the fish stinks it starts at the head. The Troll must go!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaineGuy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear MaineGuy_12,

Thank you very much for being a Platinum member and your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahlonega hotels
0 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
508 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
170 reviews
11.9 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#5 of 8 in Dahlonega
175 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Smith House
The Smith House
#2 of 8 in Dahlonega
318 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Dahlonega Square Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega

Address: 835 S Chestatee St, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range: $124 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dahlonega, home to the first major gold rush in the US. The Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega hotel is a luxurious three-story hotel only one mile from downtown Dahlonega and located in the heart of the Southern Appalachian Mountains with excellent mountain views and rapid access to mountain attractions. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Please note that no roll-away beds are allowed in any of our rooms. Visit Dahlonega, GA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega Hotel Dahlonega
Holiday Inn Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing