We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene Scene”
Review of Lily Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lily Creek Lodge
Ranked #8 of 8 Dahlonega B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2007

The Lily Creek Lodge is a bed and breakfast inn in northern Georgia, not far from the approach to the Appalacian Trail.


Let me start by saying that the full gourmet breakfast each morning alone is worth the visit. Everything is fresh and homemade, including the granola, the chocolate chip cookies for an afternoon treat and the generous breakfast plate. (well, maybe not the fruit but I wouldn't be surprised)!!


If you demand clean accommodations, this is it. While the bathroom in our room could have used a touch up of paint around the doors, that was the worst I can say about it.


Although the pool temp was too cold for me (78 degrees), it was this close to heaven to sit and listen to the waterfall, surrounded by trees. Since the pool was so cool, the hot tub was that much more enjoyable, especially after an afternoon of hiking.


The inn rates a 7 rather than a 8 because in my humble opinion, the hot tub area needs improvement and sprucing up. Don't let that stop you from enjoying the relaxing soak.


The innkeepers were most pleasant and accommodating - including glasses of wine for our short stroll to the pool. They are available to suggest activities, give opinions, and are most welcoming. You will find lounge chairs and swing stragetically placed to enjoy the view and help you unwind. Also on grounds are a gazebo and treehouse for your breakfast dining. Take breakfast on the patio if weather permits. Movies, books and games are available should the mood strike.


This B&B was the perfect location as "home base" for our 3 days exploring the beautiful north Georgia mountains. Serene comfort, welcoming hosts, great food and clean - all on my must have list - puts this inn on my "want to go back" list.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hr2357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 162 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2007

Our family celebrated our Father's 70th birthday and the owners were very nice throughout. Everything was clean and the hosts were attentive and discreet. The pool is great, as was the breakfast. Just a few minutes from Dahlonega. Not to be missed!
Ernie Saylor

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MylesCabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

My mom and I spent a wonderful weekend at Lily Creek. It was quiet, private and very relaxing. The breakfast was fabulous, with friendly service and gracious individual tables, set with beautiful china, silver and fresh flowers. There were numerous places inside and out to sit and enjoy tea, coffee and conversation. While we did get to meet some of the other guests, most of the time we felt like we had the place to ourselves. There is a wonderful pool and covered gazebo in a clearing in the woods. The owners were friendly and attentive, without being hoovering. The fresh cookies were worth sneaking downstairs in the evening for a second helping. It was easy to find, and just a short drive from downtown. This was exactly what we were looking for in a delightful weekend escape -- we plan to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2007

My wife and I recently visited the Lily Creek Lodge and had a terrific experience! While we were only 70 miles from home the lodge felt as though we had traveled a thousand miles to a new and fantastic land. The room was very reminiscent of European style lodgings, complete with tapestry and fine linen!! The property was absolutely gorgeous, with heirloom roses in bloom, succulent blackberries ripe for the picking and a Romanesque pool tucked neatly away behind the lodge. The breakfasts provided the perfect start to our days, satisfying both palate and appetite with unparalleled grace! The breads and breakfast dishes were true culinary delights!! Our hosts were gracious and humble , leaving us with the incontestable sense that they truly loved what they had created!! We hope that this decade is the first of many for them and we look forward to spending future weekends in their quaint little corner of the world!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPFRIED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2007

We recently stayed at the Lily Creek Lodge for our anniversary. I would say it was an above average stay.

The grounds/gardens were absolutely beautiful. There was soft music playing outside which was very relaxing. Although we didn't get to enjoy the pool, it looked very inviting. I liked the fact the pool was away from the house, tucked away from everything. There was also a hot tub which you could enjoy.

I will say when we walked in to the main area, there was a strong musty smell which had me concerned that our room would smell that way (it did not). They will ask you for the $$ upfront when you get there which made me laugh. We have stayed at other B&B's that wait until you get settled--no biggie. We stayed in the Moonglow room which was nice...very eclectic/random furniture though. We had a walk in shower which was great. However, we lost hot water a few times during our showers. I'm not sure if everyone else was trying to shower at the same time and they ran out of hot water--somewhat frustrating.

We walked around Dahlonega and ate at a fabulous restaurant--Corkscrew Cafe right off the square. It was out of this world! My husband and I eat out a lot and we rated this restaurant in our top 10. He had the New york strip and I had the Pork loin--both very, very good. Great wine list as well. I heard there were other restaurants just as good.

We had breakfast at Lily Creek the next morning which was wonderful. You could sit outside or inside the dining room. The owners didn't come around much until breakfast but they were nice.

All in all, I would recommend staying there. It might be a little overpriced for what you get, but we don't enjoy staying in basic hotels. We love the ambiance of a B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princess35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

Rustic envioronment, gourmet breakfast...care to eat in a treehouse or gazebo? Lie around a waterfalled pool? The best kept secret in the
Altanta area. Seriously! As a school principal, having peace, quiet, and space to recharge is worth it's weight in Dahlonega gold!

Deluxe rooms..hosts (Sharon and Don), who will guide, entertain, or leave you to the solitude of exploring all the amenities the lodge and nature have to offer. All a world away, yet forty-five minutes from my home in Alpharetta. A treasure! So why am I blowing my best-kept secret?? It's just too good not to!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Suchadeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2007

We have stayed at the Lily Creek Lodge for 5 visits. Initially, we wanted to let our stays in Dahlonega (our getaway place) to include visits to several bed and breakfasts in the area. However, once we stayed at Lily Creek, we kept rebooking with them for future visits.

The inn is located in an area surrounded by beautiful trees. You feel like you are in a country retreat, but are really close to Dahlonega and the surrounding arease and all that they have to offer.
The innkeepers, Sharon and Don Bacek were gracious and friendly and some of our most pleasant memories were of wine and conversation on the beautiful outside deck overlooking the woods.

The breakfast the first time we stayed was continental but has since been changed to a full breakfast. At all times, it was delicious. We especially enjoy the homemade granola and breads.

The rooms were accomodating and the choice of themes was fun, insuring that return visits were different with different rooms.

The pool is beautiful and the hot tub welcome. The grounds are spacious and allow you an opportunity to just wanter.

All in all, we would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jlwgeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
9.8 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
13.3 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
367 reviews
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#5 of 8 in Dahlonega
170 reviews
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
504 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Dahlonega Square Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lily Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lily Creek Lodge

Address: 2608 Auraria Rd, Dahlonega, GA 30533-5918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dahlonega
Price Range: $157 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lily Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque Blue Ridge Mountains of North Georgia, Lily Creek Lodge is a forest-hugged mountain retreat that combines cozy, vintage style with modern luxuries and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lily Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing