We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Review Highlights
Gemsaplenty

My wife, 12 year old granddaughter and I are vacationing this week in Big Canoe, Georgia. Today we... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
John T
,
orlando
via mobile
Love this place

Have visited several times with the grandkids 6-10. They love it. Staff had always been helpful... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
rcabr
,
atlanta, ga
via mobile
Read all 344 reviews
  
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveler rating
252
57
18
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
252
57
18
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wagon ride gem mining gallon bucket gift shop high grade gold mine nuggets owners and staff all ages small amount self guided tour gem bucket take home gem grubbing young man dahlonega area dirt
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 344 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

You pan for gold ( and actually find some) and then pan for gems. We found citrine, white quartz, aquamarine and garnet. The garnet was large enough to make into a 6 carat mounted stone. Very friendly staff, very comfortable and cool surroundings. Had a great time.

Date of experience: September 2016
3  Thank Roseanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2016

This is a great gold mine and gift shop. we enjoyed the clean, pleasant mine area, with friendly people to help you locate and identify the gem stones you found, It is also a true value, we were pleased with the quality and the amount of gems that were in the buckets we purchased,
we are looking forward to stopping by here when we return to Georgia .

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank Wirebender51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016

been here before nice peoples ,prices going up tho,wanted some stuff but prices was way to high,very nice owners but not busy there

Date of experience: August 2016
3  Thank tra5bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

This place is very entertaining. We panned for gold, and got a small amount. We also mined for gems, and we got a bunch. The wagon ride was really fun also. I definitely recommend this place.

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank Brooke15Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

The one change we would make in our visit is to have chosen the $85 bucket for panning gold instead of the $45 bucket and we would have bought 2 $30 buckets for gems. It was worth every dime. We came home with treasures galore! The staff is knowledgeable, friendly and helped us identify each crystal we found. The old mining equipment was an interesting insight into commercial gold mining in the Georgia Gold Rush days. Don't miss the Dahlonega Gold Museum in town. Their film is chock full of history and information. We are already talking about going back!

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank sailmaker51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews