We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fun and informative

We really enjoyed the mine tour. Included was a pan and some sand and some instruction on how to... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
paultV1976KH
Gem and Gold

We had so much fun ! We are staying in Blairsville and drove an hour to Crissons and it was so... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
aforonda326
,
Toms River, New Jersey
via mobile
Read all 399 reviews
  
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveler rating
299
63
19
9
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
299
63
19
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wagon ride gem mining gallon bucket pay dirt gift shop gold mine nuggets panning area large ruby self guided tour all ages well worth the trip great family fun gem grubbing gem mine young man kids and adults
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 399 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

You pan for gold ( and actually find some) and then pan for gems. We found citrine, white quartz, aquamarine and garnet. The garnet was large enough to make into a 6 carat mounted stone. Very friendly staff, very comfortable and cool surroundings. Had a great time.

Date of experience: September 2016
3  Thank Roseanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2016

This is a great gold mine and gift shop. we enjoyed the clean, pleasant mine area, with friendly people to help you locate and identify the gem stones you found, It is also a true value, we were pleased with the quality and the amount of gems that were in the buckets we purchased,
we are looking forward to stopping by here when we return to Georgia .

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank Wirebender51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016

been here before nice peoples ,prices going up tho,wanted some stuff but prices was way to high,very nice owners but not busy there

Date of experience: August 2016
3  Thank tra5bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

The one change we would make in our visit is to have chosen the $85 bucket for panning gold instead of the $45 bucket and we would have bought 2 $30 buckets for gems. It was worth every dime. We came home with treasures galore! The staff is knowledgeable, friendly and helped us identify each crystal we found. The old mining equipment was an interesting insight into commercial gold mining in the Georgia Gold Rush days. Don't miss the Dahlonega Gold Museum in town. Their film is chock full of history and information. We are already talking about going back!

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank sailmaker51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

I have been several times now and keep finding reasons to go back. You will not find friendlier people anywhere. It is neat to see over 100 year old equipment still running and producing gold today. I have played around looking for gold for years and I have found more at Grisson in just a few trips than I have found everywhere else combined. For the few people that said they did not find much or complained there back hurt. Welcome to the world of prospecting. It is hard work for little return. That's the reason gold is so expensive. But I can assure you that you have a far better chance here than you will anywhere else at finding nice gold. & if you decide to try it on your own they have all the equipment you could want at reasonable prices. & if you happen to find something you are not sure about you can always take it up to Grisson and they will be more than happy to share there knowledge and help you out.

Date of experience: September 2016
4  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews