We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family style”
Review of The Smith House

The Smith House
Order Online
Ranked #14 of 94 Restaurants in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Famous for our all-you-can eat family style meals. Country vegetable and fried chicken is everyone's favorite. Stay in our historic inn and visit our historic town square of Dahlonega where the first Gold Rush was located. The Smith House is locked one block from the square.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We brought a friend to Dahlonega for the day to explore the shops and stopped in at the Smith House for a family style lunch. So much food and quite the variety of country cooking. The fried chicken is excellent. We really enjoyed the many flavors. Our servers were very attentive and reminded us that it was “all you can eat” so don’t be shy in asking for more of your favorites. Everything topped off with strawberry short cake for desert. Love the corn.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank james628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 496 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2019

They bring out a CART full of food for you. We were asked if we liked white or dark meat chicken and brought out what we asked for.
Thank goodness we could choose what we wanted off the cart. The selections were fantastic but we knew we did not want to waste food we would not eat.
The chicken was to die for. My husband loved the roast beef and veggies.
Service was incredible. Got seated right away and there were only 2 of us at the table!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DebandDanGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

First, the positives. The ladies who work at the Smith House are super friendly and hospitable. They really exude Georgia hospitality. Second, the restaurant brims with historical significance and has a cool gold mine shaft and great historical photos and paraphernalia. The fried chicken was good as I hope it would be because this is Georgia so we should do it right.

The food is plentiful but this Georgia native believes the restaurant can do way better with the food given the price charged per person.

Maybe give less quantity of food to save money if necessary and cut your chefs loose to take the challenge and make the QUALITY of the food better. Shake it up y’all.

Perhaps y’all can visit Mary Macs in Atlanta bc they offer quality food and ample portions for less so it can be done - I just know y’all can do it better and I believe in you.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Serendipitous41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2019 via mobile

Ate here on a week day around 12:30 PM. Its family style meaning they set the food on the table (you don't order off the menu) and you may sit with people you do not know. Not crowded, so we were immediately seated. The fried chicken is just plain fantastic. It's almost too much food. Collar greens, pole beans, corn, mashed potatoes w/ gravy,fried okra, ham, mac and cheese, and rolls. A little disappointed that there were no homemade biscuits and some of the vegetables were canned, but overall, it was very enjoyable. Seemed to be reasonably priced for the amount and quality of food. We'd go again.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank LSColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreidaWB, General Manager at The Smith House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2019

Thank you for your response! We no longer seat family style only on Mother's day and Thanksgiving. All of our tables are private seating. So glad you enjoyed your meal. However, the only canned product we use is the cheddar cheese for the macaroni & cheese. Our vegetables are canned but fresh. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

This is a place that our friends introduced us to for lunch and we enjoyed it a great deal. The meal consisted of Fried Chicken, ham, beans, collard greens, fried okra, rolls, corn bread and mashed potatoes and gravy. It was more than enough and the food was delicious. The service was attentive and friendly. If you are going to visit for a meal, you will want to come hungry as it is all you can eat!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank RobertSofSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Smith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing