We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and lots of it.”
Review of The Smith House

The Smith House
Ranked #11 of 86 Restaurants in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: Famous for our all-you-can eat family style meals. Country vegetable and fried chicken is everyone's favorite. Stay in our historic inn and visit our historic town square of Dahlonega where the first Gold Rush was located. The Smith House is locked one block from the square.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food and lots of it.”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch at the Smith House July 2nd. The food was home cooked and very good. The service was good and kept our plates filled. The veggies were fresh and home styled. Good food and good value.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicknaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    116
    75
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Patrons beware!!! A special kind of nasty!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Smith House was highly recommended so we were looking forward to our meal. We were seated at a table and the friendly waitress took our drink order. Shortly after our food arrived and there was plenty of food and plenty of variety.

For the price, the quality was terrible. Green beans, sweet potatoes and corn right out of the can! I was so disappointed. The frozen fried okra was good, the mashed potaoes were thick, the broccoli casserole didn't have hardly any broccoli in it. The fried chicken was good, the roast was good, and the ham had good flavor.

Our biggest problem with this meal was the bowl of ham. The first piece in the bowl was fine. The second piece had clear bite marks on it where someone had taken a bite!!! We let the staff know and showed them the bite marks. The bowl was taken away and a few minutes later a young man brought another bowl of ham. He said the manager said it wasn't bite marks, but tear marks from the tongs! I have never seen tongs which were of a round shape. How would they pick up the food? The ham is good but not tender enough that tongs could tear it. However, teeth can and did. As a person who has been trained in dental hygiene, I know bite marks when I see them.

Definitely not a good value, not worth the cost for food out of a can. This is not true country cooking. The strawberry shortcake had good flavor; however, the cake was very tough.

NOTE TO MANAGER!
If you bother reading this.....We just thought a worker made a mistake and grabbed a bowl which was from another table not realizing a piece of ham had been bitten off of. However, after you made up that lie as an excuse we now believe that you all just add more food to the half empty dishes and send them out to other patrons. You would have been better off to say nothing than to lie. We were not looking for a reason.

A very nasty way of serving food! Also, who wants to eat with strangers who may or may not wash their hands after going to the restroom or blowing their nose??? Disgusting! I would give you half a star if it were possible!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just not for me.”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

They had good food but we didn't like eating at the table with strangers. I didn't like everybody handling the bowls my food was in to dip from it. I am a germ-a-fobe and this was just not my bag. I like to have family time around the dinner table and this I felt intruded on that.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not worth the money - not great food”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Went here on Saturday on way to mountains. It was our second visit, and same result: mediocre, over-priced food, at best. $17.95 for my 14 year old who just wanted some sweet tea and cornbread. I can understand some people being deceitful and not paying, but when you are being honest, they need to have a beverage option, or allow a kids price. Anyway, the vegetables like green beans and corn taste canned. The pot roast doesn't taste homemade. The only thing decent is the fried chicken. Even though we have gorgeous fresh strawberries in season now in North Georgia, to put canned strawberries in syrup on a piece of stale vanilla cake and call it shortcake is a misnomer. Again, a canned product. I will not return and won't recommend. Service staff not that friendly, either. Just want to be sure everyone paid.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Micheled7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
1,090 reviews
678 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
“So Good!!!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Usually when we visit North Georgia, we always try to make a stop at the Smith House for a meal. They have a lot of great things, like ham okra and many more. You most likely will leave stuff. I would also checkout the gold mine they recently found a few years ago under the Smith House. Overall, this is a place I would highly recommend you visit, because I'm sure you will have a nice meal, and leave happy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caleb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Smith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing