We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Burger!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danny's Restaurant

Danny's Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 84 Restaurants in Dahlonega
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Awesome Burger!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

One of the best burgers I've ever tasted...The Danny Burger was heavenly! I was asked exactly how I wanted it prepared and what items I would like on it...delish!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doggeemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

They were friendly, and the food wasn't bad, but it was nothing to write home about. I would have liked to try their breakfast, we we had lunch which had just been put out. Even so, by the time we were eating it, it was pretty much cold. Nothing was bad but overall just pretty much so-so. The all-you-can-eat salad bar didn't have many choices. Roast beef and veggies were run-of-the-mill.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So-So”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The wait staff was very friendly, and service was decent. The food left me wanting. The brown gravy tasted like it was made from boullion cubes, the grease used for the chicken fried steak tasted like it needed a change. Nothing special, reminded me of school cafeteria food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Something for everyone from breakfast through dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Tons of cars and trucks are always parked out front of Danny's Restaurant, so we decided to give it a try. We weren't exactly sure what to do when we arrived, but the staff was very friendly and explained our choices to us.The atmosphere is friendly, but not fancy.

Breakfast is served until 10:45 am , so we didn't get a chance to try it. They were voted number one breakfast restaurant by the Dahlonega Nugget

Lunch and dinner are served from 10:45 am. Lunch ends at 2:30 pm and dinner ends at close..

The lunch is served cafeteria style with the choice of a meat and one or more side; a vegetable plate or the salad bar. We learned that most of their food is homemade including the mashed potatoes, breads, and cobblers. If you choose the dinner, you will order from the menu. The menu is extensive including steak, pork, shrimp, ham, stir fry and a wide variety of sandwiches.

My husband chose the fried chicken, macaroni and cheese and chocolate cake. I had the beef tips, white rice and cabbage. The homemade cornbread was awesome. We both enjoyed our tasty meals, although the food could have been hotter. We will definitely be back when we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SharronLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good southern cooking.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you like a home cooked meal this is where you want to eat. The breakfast is good and so is the lunch. They have the best fried chicken. They almost give you too much. We always leave stuffed because ooohhh it is so good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danny's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Danny's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing