We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-So”
Review of Danny's Restaurant

Danny's Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 86 Restaurants in Dahlonega
Restaurant details
South Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So-So”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The wait staff was very friendly, and service was decent. The food left me wanting. The brown gravy tasted like it was made from boullion cubes, the grease used for the chicken fried steak tasted like it needed a change. Nothing special, reminded me of school cafeteria food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blairsville
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Something for everyone from breakfast through dinner”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Tons of cars and trucks are always parked out front of Danny's Restaurant, so we decided to give it a try. We weren't exactly sure what to do when we arrived, but the staff was very friendly and explained our choices to us.The atmosphere is friendly, but not fancy.

Breakfast is served until 10:45 am , so we didn't get a chance to try it. They were voted number one breakfast restaurant by the Dahlonega Nugget

Lunch and dinner are served from 10:45 am. Lunch ends at 2:30 pm and dinner ends at close..

The lunch is served cafeteria style with the choice of a meat and one or more side; a vegetable plate or the salad bar. We learned that most of their food is homemade including the mashed potatoes, breads, and cobblers. If you choose the dinner, you will order from the menu. The menu is extensive including steak, pork, shrimp, ham, stir fry and a wide variety of sandwiches.

My husband chose the fried chicken, macaroni and cheese and chocolate cake. I had the beef tips, white rice and cabbage. The homemade cornbread was awesome. We both enjoyed our tasty meals, although the food could have been hotter. We will definitely be back when we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SharronLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good southern cooking.”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you like a home cooked meal this is where you want to eat. The breakfast is good and so is the lunch. They have the best fried chicken. They almost give you too much. We always leave stuffed because ooohhh it is so good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Dahlonega's diner”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great southern breakfast... friendly service.
Reasonable pricing. I think they serve lunch and dinner on weekends.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArtATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fish”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Tried the fish filet and shrimp. Shrimp was ok, but fish was dry, thin, I thought it was frozen. My husband had the salad bar, which was good. I also had a baked potato which was cooked correctly. The baked beans were from a can.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaynaU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danny's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Danny's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing